Oh my gosh.. Heathen 1 and Heathen 2! hee hee... So the other day while giving Funny a bath, she started chewing on the cross ties. Um..... I guess you saw Dan do that, huh?! So then today I was filling up the water trough and she wandered over... and stuck her foot in it. Good news is that it was the foot with the abscess, so... good job soaking it baby girl! And also good news.. hilarity ensued! Of course Dan joined in and they were both splashing and carrying about. Then Dan grabbed the hose and was spraying Funny, who didn't care... Goobers!! It totally made my day. They have too much fun together!
Thursday, July 29, 2021
Saturday, July 24, 2021
Baby Girl... Pull yourself together!!!
So.... Funny is a hot mess! That swollen hind leg... got a little worse. She still wasn't lame on it. The trimmer came and she thought her feet looked great! I would agree. In fact, she looked so straight that she couldn't remember if she toed in or toed out! But she saw her hind foot and was like "Whoa!". Funny was a little fussy on that leg with her too. After she trimmed her I asked her if she'd mind watching her trot and tell me if she was sound since I couldn't really see her go without her doing it on her own. So we went to the street and as we were heading back in... suddenly, here comes Fleck! Ummm... and then there was Dan! Ooops! Fleck must have slung the stall door open. I figured that if I led Funny back in the boys would follow. Sure enough... they did. Yay! Phew!
So anyways... the next day Funny was still swollen and maybe even a little more so. And I felt heat! Like... lots of heat. And there were two distinct lumps. So I cold hosed it and started her on SMZ's. And called the vet. I was sort of figuring that by the time they were able to come see us... she'd be on the mend and I could cancel the appointment, but... I figured it would be nice to check that splint bone... and then we could x-ray Fleck's jaw too. But.. they were able to come the next day! So... of course the next morning... no heat... Oh well. Turns out... it was beautiful that I went ahead and called because... while Funny was fine... and Fleck's jaw was fine... Dan needed help. (See his blog). And I figured.., now I'm an established client, so for future emergencies.... (Way to jinx yourself Holly!)
So... I hosed everyone off last night after dinner, which was 9 pm! And everyone was fine. We finished our dinner at 10:45 and went to bed a little after midnight. At about 2:30 in the morning I woke up to some loud noises in the stall. At first I thought it was just Funny scratching her hiney... but then it was persistent and started to sound a little more alarming than just scratching. It was loud. So I went out and there was a huge thunk! I turned on the light and Funny jumped up. But she looked neurological/lame... like she was collapsing. I grabbed shoes and followed her out and at that point she was down and rolling in the pasture. Repeatedly. Oh man!!!! She was pouring sweat and hotter than heck! And she hurt. She'd roll, get up, fall back down, roll, groan, lay there... then roll. No No No NO NOOOOOOO!!! I ran to get a halter and my phone and tried to get her up. I could barely get the hatler on her she was flailing so bad. So I called Dr. Barrows and she called right back. She told me to give her some banamine IV or wait and she'd be there soon. I got the banamine and Funny was down and groaning.... so I grabbed Mike and made him hold the flashlight and actually managed to get a vein while she was down on the ground. She then flailed around some more.... I got the halter on her... and then she went down again. She then laid there quietly.... groaning and moaning and clearly uncomfortable but not frantic. Then Dr. Barrows pulled up! Dang... quick! She and I got Funny up and at that point... she started to act normal. Dr. Barrows listened and we walked her into the barn. At this point she was calm and chill and even started lipping me like she always does. Sigh... I swear we both thought she was dying! (Me and Funny both thought that!). Dr. Barrows said her heart rate was only 44, her gums were good, she wasn't dehydrated via skin turgor or tongue, and she had a TON of gas in all quadrants. Oh thank God!!!! We ended up giving her some buscopan and then put her in the stall. She went to munching on alfalfa so... she recommended I turn her out, let her eat wet grass, but no hay, and check her again in about an hour. So I did. And she meandered off and was munching on grass. I sat on the front porch and watched the gorgeous orange moon and read some of my bible while I waited. I prayed. And then I checked on her. She was out in the middle of the field down... but not flailing. But she was groaning and looking at her stomach on occasion. But she had a lot of gas sounds and was passing gas too, so... we just sat there in the moonlight. I rubbed her belly, rubbed her face, and we just snuggled. She fell asleep a few times and even had some little dreams and was twitching. But then she'd wake up again and be uncomfortable. I was torn... do I call Dr. Barrows back?? Do I wait it out... She wasn't worse, so we waited it out. Around 5 am Erin messaged me and suggested I give her some Simethicone, so I left her and went and got a handful of grain, simethicone, and my stethoscope. When I got back she was up and acting a little more normal. She snarfed down the grain and the simethicone and her gut was still loud and crazy! I chatted with Erin and watched the moon set. There wasn't much of a sunset because it was so bright from the moon and no clouds. She was following me around and sniffing my hair... her usual self. So I decided to maybe try to get a little nap in for a bit. This was around 7 am. I tried... but then they were demanding breakfast so I got back up and just fed them. I gave her the tiniest bit of grain, her antibiotics, and lots of water. And she was happy as a clam and ate great and was munching on hay. So.... I watched a bit more.. then just had to go to bed. I slept for about 2 hours and when I woke up... she was happily grazing out in the pasture with the boys and totally back to normal! Thank you God!!! And she remained that way all day. In fact, she was back to being her normal nosy velcro pony self. :)
Oh how grateful to God I am. After going through it with Dewey... it's extra scary.

Yep, back to "normal". :)
Monday, July 19, 2021
I'm BORRRREEEEEEDDDD Mummy
So, little miss sassy pants is following in her brothers footsteps of demanding to be entertained! :) She's bored! But that's partly her fault. Because she had an abscess! It finally popped and then Sunday was such a long exhausting migrainey day we didn't go play. So today, I got home from work early enough that I figured we could! I pulled her out to groom her (and by groom, I mean smear the dirt and sweat around) and... dang it! Baby girl.. what are you doing? Her left hind cannon bone was fat laterally and focally and her fetlock does look big. She wasn't tender and there wasn't any heat.... and she was sound, so.... ??? Maybe she just wacked it pawing at the gate... or ??? So we went anyways. We just did a short walk. We went to the tennis courts, did a little tiny trot around that field, walked up the hill twice, and then headed home. It was started to thunder and the skies were looking dark by the house. Plus Dan was starting to chomp the bridle and get quick. I don't know why he got all nervous but he did. Maybe the storm. He wants to protect his sissy. ???
But they were both good. Hopefully that'll appease Funny for a little better. The other night when I turned them out in the middle field, even Dan was just grazing and she decided to run a lap or two. :) Hee hee. I love her!
Good Brothers
Funny has the best biggest brothers!!! She loves Dan so much and he is (shockingly) so good with her!!!
Thursday, July 15, 2021
Thursday, July 1, 2021
Field Trip of Epic Proportion
Both Dan and I were missing riding with friends. It's been awhile. And the last two times I took him to the lake he didn't even want to splash. So, since none of my friends could join me today, and since I had done dressage the last two rides, and because it was a gorgeous day... I took him and Funny to Ashland to hack. And it was an awesome adventure! I'm so glad we did it. We had a blast!
I got Dan loaded and Funny was so brave and pretty much went straight on. She got her front feet on and then she was a little nervous and hesitating as she went but she never backed off and just slowly kept coming! Good girl! We haven't even practiced since our last trailer ride. I got everyone groomed and got Dan tacked up and off we went. We had a lovely 30 minute ride or so...just playing in the woods and the fields. We walked up some hills. Oh, and then we found a log to jump. It was in the path, so we had to jump it. The first time we walked over it and she was fine. So then we tried trotting. Ha ha. Poor baby girl. Twice she stopped and wouldn't go. Then the third time, she tried. She tried hard. She stopped, then reared up. Then threw her front legs down. Then she couldn't figure out the hind end and basically crawled over it with the hind end. Oh honey.... we'll teach you how to jump! Don't worry! We tried one more time and she actually trotted over it someone coordinated, so she got lots of praise. We carried on and she did the steeper big creek crossing without blinking.
Then we got to the big creek crossing with the mini waterfall and the shenanigans started! This time... not caused by us! We met up with 3 other riders who apparently traveled through a wasp nest. Two of the horses were getting stung so they started bucking. One of the riders jumped off and the other rider fell off in the creek. The horses were panicking and the riders were a little panicked. So, Funny and Dan were like "What the heck"? And then Dan tried to get the heck out of Dodge and tried to spin and bolt. Meanwhile, I'm holding my phone because I was going to get photos over the creek, holding Dan, and holding Funny. I'm trying to get him reined in... get my phone in my pocket, and keep Funny from getting tangled. I managed, but barely. Finally I just hopped off. Well, then I almost lost Dan because he was so upset his head was way up in the air and I couldn't get the reins over his head because I couldn't reach! Eventually we got situated and then the riders crossed the creek and then started walking back home. It took Dan a few minutes to breathe, but he did. I managed to get back on and then we crossed the creek with no issues. Then we headed to the lake which was the original plan. Unfortunately, the other people were headed that way too so Dan got a little bit on edge again. But not bad. They didn't want to stay at the lake so they kept going. Yay! Pool party time for Dan and Funs. They went in and splashed a little bit and drank a little bit. Then Dan went in to his chest, stuck his face in to drink, and then .... went for a swim! It was just the short little loop about, but... Funny came with us! I'm pretty sure she swam the teeniest bit but she may have stayed on solid ground. We did it twice! hee hee. so cool!!! Dan was definitely swimming. I went underwater up to my boobs. After that, they splashed a teeny bit more and then we headed towards home. A few feet into the woods Dan shook his head and his bonnet fell off his ears! Luckily I grabbed it. But then I realized he had also lost half his bridle!!!! It was on one ear and that was it. Eeeks! I was able to grab it and shove his ear back through and get it back on. But then his figure 8 band was swinging over his nose instead of OVER his nose. Ha ha... oh well.
I decided to go to the XC field and just walk down the bank and over the ditches while we were there. Only my dumb self decided to do the slightly bigger bank down. I figured she was so good over the baby one... why not try the slightly bigger one. Well.. it's kind of a good bit bigger! But we tried it. Keep in mind... my phone holder was soaking wet so I was holding my phone in my hand. Dan jumped down politely and as we landed, I asked him to stand as Funny hadn't jumped yet. Unfortunately, Dan turned slightly on landing and because Funny stayed up top... the lead rope had gotten under my leg and physics made it fling my heel up and it basically flipped me out of the saddle! hee hee. It was a bit hilarious but dang!! I hit the ground on my left seatbone and it hurt a bit. I jumped up... still had Funny's lead rope... and was trying to get Dan turned around so I could get back on. I lined him up to use the bank to get on and he almost jumped up the bank as I was getting on! No! And then Funny decided to be brave and jump down then... almost landing on Dan and having to duck under him. Ha ha.... CHAOS! Luckily, she missed Dan, he moved out of the way, and I was able to stay out of the way and then finagle him to where I could get on. We went to the smaller ditch and did that like normal people. Then we went to the ditch and she walked over the smallest one and next smallest one like a rock star. Then we went to the water complex and she walked right in. We moseyed around for a minute and then walked up the bank out of the water. I turned her around and she didn't even question it and walked right back down the bank into the water!! She said NO last time! I hardly even asked this time. :) So we did the other up bank and then turned back down and came down into the water again. GOOD baby girl!!! She's a full event horse now... except the whole not knowing how to actually jump. Ha ha...
So then we headed home because that was a big day! I hosed her off first and then put her in her breakaway halter and tied her to the trailer facing the hose. I parked close on purpose, and she stood there while I hosed Dan. She danced a litte, but to be fair, so did Dan when it was her turn. But she didn't pull back. Yay! Afterwards, she was climbing up the ramp while still tied to the side of the trailer and chewing on the butt bars. Just like Dan does. So, I put her on first. She took a minute, but that was it. She came up pretty quickly and stood for a few minutes while I finished up with Dan.
I'm so proud of her!!! She took everything in stride! And I'm so glad Dan had a fun day too. :)














































