Thursday, September 30, 2021

Good luck Funny

 So... we got more x-rays. She has two small joint mice/chips/OCD lesions in each front fetlock... a HUGE chip on the right hind fetlock, higher up on the joint area, and then.. her hocks are fine. So, I emailed Dr. Eggleston, I emailed Coosa Valley, I called Piedmont again, and I panicked. BUT... after it's all said and done, rather quickly however, I ended up deciding to take her to UGA. They will do the stifles and hopefully the hind fetlock. And then we'll reassess the front fetlocks later as they may resolve on their own. And they were able to do her this week... which is good and bad. Good because my panic is in full force but at least I won't have to be panicking another month before she has surgery. 

So... today I let her play out in the field as long as I could and then I brought her in, groomed her, and picked her feet, and gave her her adequan and then...  we went to the trailer. I was smart and brought carrots and she actually loaded right up. It took her a minute to decide if she was going to leave again or let me put the butt bar up and stay. But she stayed. Fleck was being a ninny head and kept screaming frantically. Dan, luckily, walked to the fence line and watched but didn't scream or run. So off we went. 

We got to the vet school and she had hauled great. She stood for a bit while I checked in and seemed okay although a little worried. She got a little stressed when I pulled the ramp down and tried to turn around, but luckily she's just big enough to not be able to quite do it so I was able to get her off before she pretzeled herself. We hung out for about 10 minutes in the parking lot while we waited on them. And then they took her! Sadness. I did get to go say goodbye outside of her stall and went in and hugged her. She was stressed and pacing and calling. But they did give her some hay and she did eat it. 

I was so stressed I didn't even get any photos of her. And I'm stressed that she's scared and worried and alone feeling. I don't want her to think I abandoned her. The boys miss her. They are a little weirded out. Fleck keeps calling randomly and Dan is a little worried. He was much more snuggly than usual, which he does when he's worried. And I'm freaked out about tomorrow. My poor little girl upside down.. But at least she'll have good drugs and hopefully tomorrow won't be as mentally stressful to her because she'll be sedated a good chunk of it. And then hopefully all will go well and she can come home Saturday!

I did cry a good chunk of the way to UGA. My little baby girl. Oh, and I also found out I am a dummy and only had her insured for mortality because.. she's a baby. So I have to pay for all of this. But luckily UGA didn't quote me a terrible price, so... fingers crossed.

So yes, Please say a prayer for her that her surgery goes well and she does well and doesn't have any issues. 





Sunday, September 26, 2021

Bunny update!

 


Silly filly!

We've not been doing much because I don't want to stress her stifles, but she did come investigate the lane while I was filling the trough. And today she came galloping up while I rode Fleck to the arena. And yesterday she came up and trotted up the hill with Dan and I and then when Dan and I went in the arena she threw a fit and went off bucking and ran back to the barn. Hee hee.. Sassy pants!







Thursday, September 16, 2021

Sadness.....

 Oh man......

So... I'm glad I listened to my gut. Funny's been a bit off. Lame.. but it's hard to tell which leg. And then she's got that wierd hunched up posture again... And with her ankles swelling, I started to worry about OCD. So, I had Dr. Barrows come out to x-ray her and they all needed coggins and fecals anyways. Plus we x-rayed Flecky. (Poor guy.. he's got like... zero sole!! so he will stay in shoes from now on!). 

We did Funny last and she was actually really pretty good for her blood draw for the Coggins. Then Dr. Barrows palpated her and she said her right front tendons felt a bit thick and she was sore. Then she palpated her hind end and said she had a lot of stifle effusion. She thought the tendon was more just a sprain/strain/smack and wasn't worried about it. But she suggested we x-ray the stifles first rather than the fetlocks. She said those didn't feel effusive or anything. So okay! We did sedate her a little bit as she was a little fussy with the palpation. She did good for that too. And she was pretty decent for the x-rays. She was a little wiggly and tried to kick a few times. Nothing vicious or evil, but... a few kicks. But we got the x-rays done. And sigh... She doesn't have typical OCD's, but.. she has stuff. Both sides have "metabolic bone lesions" on the lateral condyles. Not the articulating joint surface, but.. near the patella path. And they weren't a smooth piece of cartilage being lifted up, but a bunch of fragmented bubbles of bone looking type lesion. Ugh. Dr. Barrows said that because it's not on the articulating surface, it's a better prognosis and that she thought she'd be just fine. She did recommend that we take her to surgery though, so they could scrape that prolific bony parts off and then thought they would do some sort of PRP, stem cells, or renovo while they were in there. Sigh... poor baby girl! No wonder she was sore at the end of the 4 mile trail ride. 

So now tomorrow I've got to figure out where to take her and then figure out how to stall rest her without her going bonkers. Luckily the boys can keep her company and take turns. And hopefully she'll be alright. 

Poor darling! 



Quick Session in the rain

 Tonight when I got home from work it was still light out and only drizzling slightly so I grabbed Funny and we went for a quick walk. We went to the culdesac. She was good but got a little jazzed. I'm not sure why, other than maybe Fleck's incessant frantic screams?? She knocked me in the head slightly but then I managed to convince her to keep her distance. We did some walking, some turning, some backing and then we went back to the driveway. There we worked on yielding to pressure... hips and shoulders. And then we did the yielding the hindquarters but balanced. And then we walked to the trailer and back. Oh, and then we picked out her feet. Good girl!





Friday, September 10, 2021

Reunited!

 Funny was a good girl for Dad while Dan and I were away at the AEC's, but I'm pretty sure she was glad to have her big brother back! I decided to take her and Dan for a fun hack on Thursday as it would be an easy ride for Dan and fun for Funny. 

She loaded up pretty easily! Especially since it's been a little while. We got to Ashland and there was a lot of tractor work going on. She got a little spooked but it sort of came up behind the trailer, so fair enough. Luckily I saw it coming and untied them first. She settled though quickly. They both got groomed and then off we went. It was LOVELY weather! Hot but not humid and a nice breeze. We went around the small lake and then up the steep hill. And at the top of the hill a deer bolted and Funny spun and I almost dropped her! Luckily she stopped short and then walked on like it was nothing. We went through the woods and trotted a little in the "school crossing" path. Then we went through the fire swamp. And then we trotted the little log in the field behind the big lake. And she hesitated but she jumped it! Yay! And then we went over the creek and then up to the lake. 



I took Dan's saddle off in case he wanted to swim but he didn't. We splashed and got plenty wet though. Funny rolled twice again. Hee hee. She can't quite figure out how to roll like she wants without getting her head wet. After a bit we headed back to XC and she went up and down the bank. I was rude and asked her to go down the bigger one first.. right off the bat. And she said no. Fair enough. We went to the small bank and did that one instead. Then she did the baby ditch and then the BN ditch. :) YAY! Then we did the water... up and down the bank into the water. Easy peasy. Then we trotted two more logs and she jumped them both! YAY! Baby girl is learning how to jump! 








So then we headed home. I ended up trying Dan at the trailer and taking her for a rinse. Then I tied her and took Dan for a rinse. She danced and fussed a little but with the blocker tie she didn't have any bad things, so... she got over it. Good ponies. And then she loaded up much more easily then the last few times. She did get a little fussy and impatient and squirmy when I was trying to untie Dan to load him, but... I got him on pretty quick. I was a little afraid she would turn around or get stuck though. She's big enough now to not get stuck I guess, but... it does worry me a little about trying to leave her on the trailer. So.. we'll have to find a way to practice with that. 

But good baby girl! We had fun!