Friday, December 25, 2020

Funny's First Christmas!

And I'm a terrible slacker of a mum! I didn't get any Christmasy photos... not her wearing a wreath... not her in a santa hat... not even her in a scarf or antlers!! In my defense... we don't have any Christmas decor this year. Just a poinsettia that the neighbors gifted us and our tiny little Christmas trees. And on top of that, it's COLD!!! SOOOOOOO Cold. And yesterday was super wet. So.... maybe I'll get her out in front of the house tomorrow with the "Christmas trees" and take a Christmas-y photo. :) 

I did snap a great photo of her last night, waiting on Santa to come! It was 10 min til midnight and I so wanted to stay out in the barn because.. you know... being in the stable at midnight! BUT... it was so cold and I couldn't take it anymore, so.. I left. 

So this morning was super cold too, so I decided maybe I would get photos after it warmed up a little. Only it never really did, but we did take some photos. Just not "christmas themed" photos. Oh well. She loved the carrots she got and is happy about her new brush. :) 

She's such a sweet little girl although she did some running around today with Dan and was even chewing on him a little bit. :) Awwwwwww







 Merry Christmas to All and to All a Good Night!

Tuesday, December 22, 2020

First Farrier Visit

Today was Funny's first farrier visit (at least with me!). She was SOOOO good. She picked up all four feet for him and only danced a tiny bit. She didn't panic when he started rasping or anything. Oh good baby girl!! 

She also met Parker today and was super sweet and snuggly. And then we watched Dan play with a bucket. I don't think she's impressed. Hee hee. She played with it a little bit but nothing like how Dan plays with it. :) 

Ahhhh.... such a sweet, quiet, peaceful, kind, happy little girl!




Saturday, December 19, 2020

Family Day

 Funny got to meet the Fergusons today!! She was so brave and so sweet and did really good with them. She was polite and took hay and carrots from them all and didn't get pushy. She did get a little freaked out twice when they came running up to her, but she only shied a little bit and then settled. :) Awwwww, such a sweet girl. 

And... she now neighs at me!!! SWOOON!!!! Granted, its because she wants food... baby girl likes her meals, but still. She neighs at me!!! 

Today we picked up all four feet without a halter for carrot pieces. She has decided that carrots are amazing! There was a little fuss with the front feet but it is getting better and better as we go. :)

She was running around with Dan a good bit today too, so maybe she is gonna be a spicy one! 





Thursday, December 10, 2020

Together... all 3 of them!

 So... I've still been playing musical ponies, but at least they are all staying out at night, which makes life easier. Today she was out with Fleck all day since she was out with Dan all night. And Dan and I had a lesson today. So... when we got home from our lesson, she and Fleck were near by but didn't seem super interested when I brought Dan back. So... I tossed him out with them and... at first, no one cared. In fact, no one cared for about 30 minutes. Funny grazed with Dan... then she grazed with Fleck. Then Dan wandered off and her and Fleck stayed eating hay. Then, since that was boring, Funny came up to snuggle. I ended up putting Dan's rope halter on her and we learned about yielding to pressure on her barrel for a few short minutes. Then we took a short walk and I walked her over the skinny baby log. Nothing exciting happened. :) So then I let her go again, because everyone just seemed exhausted! And they were still good. But then Fleck went after Dan a few times, but it was more half hearted attempts and Dan didn't retaliate... heck, he barely even moved out of the way. So... I let them be for a little bit while I went inside. 

I came back out for dinner and Fleck was being a little more aggressive again, but... still not too bad. So after I fed them I decided to separate them again, in the dark... and tomorrow while I was gone at work, but... maybe by this weekend, they can all go out happily together again. :) Yay! and Oh My Goodness... she's so freakin' pretty!!! I love her so!











Wednesday, December 9, 2020

Miss you Sissy!

 Dan and I went to the beach... Funny stayed with Fleck... taken care of by Mike. :) 

Came home... missed Dan.. bossing him around some... Creating upheavel by running around.... 

still wears clothes... working on picking up feet and cross tieing but doing better

nickers at me some now too!!!! SWOOOONNNN!!

Boys got dentals... she was so curious and concerned... Kissed Dan and got a bloody nose from his blood. 

Hoping soon to walk through the arena with her and practice some more stuff


Tuesday, December 1, 2020

 Today was a big day. :) Well, not really, but kind of. :) Last night was soooo cold, and today wasn't much warmer, but it was sunny and dry. She went out with her blanket on and got to spend the day by herself because Fleck and Dan needed to be out together so that Fleck doesn't go completely stallion and try to go after Dan too much. She was fine though and even investigated the barn on her own. It got a little warm and toasty mid day so I pulled her blanket off and took the opportunity to measure her. She is definitely 13.1 at the wither, but is only 6 months old, so I don't know how to assess her future height. Hopefully more than 15.1, but I'm pretty sure Dan was about the same and I sort of panicked and.... yeah.... so I think we'll be alright. Then I put her in the cross ties and she was actually pretty darn good about it. Then we picked up feet. I started with her hinds, because... for whatever weird reason... she's soooo much better about her hinds. ??? Go figure. She was good for them and even let me pick them out. Then I did her fronts and it got a little bit sassy! She seems to want to back up into something when I pick them up and without having anything to back into, she kept backing and hit the end of the cross tied. She sat back a few times but when she gets the pressure for more than a few seconds, she almost bounces straight up in the air to get out of it. Almost like a compressed/coiled spring. Hee hee. Easy baby girl, easy! Luckily she wasn't too dramatic and she isn't like Dan.. she doesn't fight it and keep fighting it. She's smart. Eventually we were able to politely pick both front feets, but... this will be a daily occurrence until it's no big deal. Which will hopefully occur before her first farrier visit with Freddie right before Christmas. :) Then she got her flu/rhino vaccine and dewormed. Poor girl. She was pretty good for both of that. Then we walked to the driveway, which was a bit scary for a second. :) 

Then I turned her out with Dan, because she was out with Fleck while I rode Dan, so... then she got some Dan playtime. And tonight... after dinner... I left her and Fleck out for the first time. EEEEKKKKSSS. I almost did it last night but figured the dramatic temp change was too much... of course tonight, it's even colder (but not as big as a drop comparatively) but also a full moon. A Beaver Moon apparently... whatever that is. :) But... Fleck likes to go into his stall, so they may come in on their own anyways. I'll go check on her later tonight anyways and make sure she's warm enough. She was snug as a bug earlier in her blanket.