Tuesday, August 24, 2021

Quick Mommy and Me Walk

 After we got back from the show... and I chilled for a few minutes...  I went back out to feed and decided to take Funny on a walkabout first. I pulled her out and picked her feet and maybe scraped out an abscess. She's still a little tender on the left front, but not every step. So hopefully that's all it is. She's starting to worry me with her constant soundness stuff. 

But we took a walk out to the driveway... then down to the end of the road, then across the street, under the tree, and back home. I didn't want to do a ton because I was worn out and I didn't want to make her more foot sore. She was pretty good though she did spook big and hard when a car drove past. But then the second car wasn't scary, so... yay. 

She's so cute!




Tuesday, August 17, 2021

Trouble....but so cute and smart!

 Oh baby girl!! Today was a stormy weather day. It rained most of the night and day, and the temperature was cooler and there was a sharp wind! It finally slacked off enough that I was going to take Dan to ride, but... it was scary looking over on one side of the pasture (dark dark clouds) so... I put him in the round pen for a minute to help me decide what I was going to do. Miss Funny didn't like that... and apparently was pawing at the gate because suddenly... I hear a commotion and... her foot is through the gate! Oh crud oh crud oh crud.... Luckily, she's smart and apparently tough, because... she managed to not panic and pulled it out. Phew! Then before I could get out there to check her, she pissed off and went cantering away. Hee hee. She is a bit sassy that one! 

Then I finally decided to take Dan so when I loaded him on the trailer, that made her mad too. She went running and doing zoomies. Just like Dan does. Oh silly girl!

She also got a new fly mask .... with a nose net to help minimize the sunburn. Hee hee. I doubt she will keep it on longer than 5 minutes... and if she doesn't keep it on, I'm sure big brother will pull it off. But she was cute modeling it. She also got hot pink fly boots, so we'll see how those go too. :) Hee hee.

Dang I love her little sassy nosy close talking self!




Sunday, August 15, 2021

Field Trip! And poor life choices.

 So... Funny has been bored. She's been splashing in the water trough and running amuck, but... I can tell she's bored. Like Dan always used to be. And she's finally all healed (knocking on wood) so... despite not wanting her and Dan to get super attached again before AEC's, I decided to take them both to Ashland today. Poor life choice #1. Maybe not for Funny, but... Dan, for some weird reason, was not thrilled. But anyways... back to Funny. This morning she had bed head too. Ha ha. But we got cleaned up before we headed out to Ashland. 

 

She took two attempts to load but only two. She's so smart. She thinks about it and says no. Then she sits there... decides to do it, and almost runs onto the trailer. I still think it makes her nervous so it's almost like she has to psyche herself up. She hauled great although good gravy there was a ton of poop on her side! She stood tied to the trailer well while I groomed her and picked her feet. And off we went. She was super! She was a little slower than Dan, but... back to Dan. He was almost angry that he had to have her along and was mad that he wasn't doing fitness sets. He was power walking and on a mission! And poor baby girl is NOT fit. Not like him. And of course, mean mom that I am, I picked some hills. We gave her a few breaks though. We did a little trotting in the halfshire field and she tried to win! ha ha. That girl has a long trot on her! She crossed the creek with only the tiniest of hesitations and a little snorty blow. We finished up at the lake. And even there Dan was still in a funky mood. He stood and splashed a little bit but he was not his usual lake fun self. I felt bad for him honestly! I have no idea why he was so cranky? Unless it's cause I was cranky? Anyways... Funny had fun. She splashed and then I just let her loose and she rolled twice! Went underwater with her head both times. Hee hee. Goober! But she kept playing and splashing. She did not swim though. Finally we headed in. We went through the XC field on our way home. She did the small down bank and then up the bank out of the water like a good girl. We walked over a small amoeba jump too. 

  

       

Then since Dan was still in a funk I thought that maybe we could go into the jump arena and close the rope and maybe him and I could pop over a jump or two. Well... the railing is a bit too low and there were people in the dressage arenas so I didn't want to let Funny loose just in case she took off... so I looped the lead around the railing. And we walked ever so slightly away. She danced a little and was mad and eventually loosened the lead. So...  here's bad life choice #2. I don't know what possessed me. I guess I didn't think about it breaking, just her pulling... but I tied her to the railing. And we trotted a small circle. Literally right behind her. And she got mad and pulled and .... proceeded to pull 3 8' or longer boards up off the railing!!! Holy Crap!!! And they came flying at her! Luckily, she stepped back.. and then stopped. She didn't panic. I jumped off and grabbed her and untied her. Good gravy Holly... again, I have no idea what possessed me to do that. Again, I didn't think about them breaking... I was more thinking she'd fight them, like the trailer. And I'd stop and come back. I don't know... Idiot! So... I put all the boards back on the fenceline and we walked back to the trailer in shame. I very briefly thought about trying to load her and seeing if I could leave with Dan but....  Good life choice #1, I decided not to bother. Today was clearly a stupid day and I was making stupid choices and it was likely that she would NOT be okay and would hurt herself. So.... I made her stand tied while I hosed him off, but that was it. She was at the blocker tie and she danced, but she didn't pull back or freak out, so... a baby win. Then I had to text Lucy and tell her I was a moron. I offered to fix it or pay but she said she would. I'll check tomorrow and make sure they were able to fix it easily enough. 

  
She was not so good about loading up to go home. I don't blame her. Ashland is fun. It took about 10 minutes... but once she decided, she was good. 

We made it home safe and sound. And while Dan and I were in weird moods... we did have fun. She had fun. She made me laugh in the lake. Good girl!


Tuesday, August 10, 2021

Healed!

 Now to hope I didn't jinx it. :) BUT... baby girl finally popped that abscess. Holy moly it was HUGE! Right in the hoof wall too at the heel. And her cankles have resolved. And her legs aren't fat. And she's not gassy. Phew! I bet she feels so much better. Not that it stopped her from having fun. But now we can go do things again!

 

So.. we did! Last night I took her on a short walkabout. I was thinking that she was super attached to Dan and so far had mostly only done things with him. And perhaps she needed to do some thing with just me. So... we did a Mommy and Me walkabout. It was short. Because Fleck was screaming. And Dan was banging. And Eddie was mowing. And Jean's horses were running. And then my shoe came untied. Ha! And I didn't have my long whip, just my short sparkly jump bat. But we still did it. And we survived. It wasn't too bad really. We walked out to the culdesac and she was fine with Eddie mowing. She looked and snorted but didn't freak out. Then we went to the field to do a sunset shoot and Jean's horses came running up. Which got her a little riled up. Her tail went up and she spun a few times, but nothing major. So then we took some photos and headed back to Skyline Drive. She settled and we crossed the street, but then Fleck was screaming and Eddie caught her eye so she reared up once or twice. I managed to get her back down and backed up and she settled. Then I noticed my shoe untied so... that was a little dicey. I managed to walk her a bit and she settled so I stopped at the neighbors fence and tied it and she was good. We walked just a tiny bit more then turned around. She was a little on the muscle but she did stop. I had to use the whip on her chest (not smacking, just a gentle reminder) a time or two, but not every time. So... not too bad. But we'll definitely need to do more of those! Hopefully that will help when I try to leave her on the trailer while working Dan. 



And then today... she was sunbathing again... despite the fans on and two new loads of shavings in her stall. Ha ha! Oh well. 





Sunday, August 1, 2021

Such an easy kiddo

 She's just so easy!!! I mean, aside from the whole awful skin, swollen legs, multiple abscess, and gas colic things. :) She's still sore on the right front again, from what I'm assuming is an abscess. And we haven't had rain every night in a few days so she's not "soaking" it like she was. I debated trying to soak it tonight but I know how much she likes to paw. BUT... before dinner I pulled her out and put her in the cross ties and picked her feet. I still can't find anything nor can I pinpoint where exactly it is wanting to come out but she's standing on her toe and medially, so I'm assuming it's the lateral heal again..  Anyways, we also did some medicated lotion on her skin funk. And then I thought... maybe the bemer would help! So I put one on her front foot and she didn't freak out. So then after a minute I put the other one on her right hind, since that was still a little puffy. She wiggled a bit and picked those feet up high a time or two. And she was pawing but that was probably just because she was pawing before the bemer went on too. So yay! Now I'll order her fly boots! Maybe that will help her legs? Hopefully not make them worse! 

Then while we were waiting for the bemer to finish... I grabbed the bareback pad and put it on her... and cinched it up. I didn't tighten in... but it was flush against her belly. She didn't even blink. :) SOOOO easy! I wonder if I'll eat my words later. ;) 

But what a good girl! And such a pretty girl. I know it won't matter, but I really hope she stays red. She's getting white hairs at the base of her main now too and there's a bit more white throughout her hiney. She's so sweet too! A close talker. ha ha. And a bit of a greedy piglet with treats, but she hasn't gotten to where she's mugging you yet. She doesn't seem to get greedy about cookies until you give her one. It's not like she's expecting them non-stop.