So... Funny has been bored. She's been splashing in the water trough and running amuck, but... I can tell she's bored. Like Dan always used to be. And she's finally all healed (knocking on wood) so... despite not wanting her and Dan to get super attached again before AEC's, I decided to take them both to Ashland today. Poor life choice #1. Maybe not for Funny, but... Dan, for some weird reason, was not thrilled. But anyways... back to Funny. This morning she had bed head too. Ha ha. But we got cleaned up before we headed out to Ashland.
She took two attempts to load but only two. She's so smart. She thinks about it and says no. Then she sits there... decides to do it, and almost runs onto the trailer. I still think it makes her nervous so it's almost like she has to psyche herself up. She hauled great although good gravy there was a ton of poop on her side! She stood tied to the trailer well while I groomed her and picked her feet. And off we went. She was super! She was a little slower than Dan, but... back to Dan. He was almost angry that he had to have her along and was mad that he wasn't doing fitness sets. He was power walking and on a mission! And poor baby girl is NOT fit. Not like him. And of course, mean mom that I am, I picked some hills. We gave her a few breaks though. We did a little trotting in the halfshire field and she tried to win! ha ha. That girl has a long trot on her! She crossed the creek with only the tiniest of hesitations and a little snorty blow. We finished up at the lake. And even there Dan was still in a funky mood. He stood and splashed a little bit but he was not his usual lake fun self. I felt bad for him honestly! I have no idea why he was so cranky? Unless it's cause I was cranky? Anyways... Funny had fun. She splashed and then I just let her loose and she rolled twice! Went underwater with her head both times. Hee hee. Goober! But she kept playing and splashing. She did not swim though. Finally we headed in. We went through the XC field on our way home. She did the small down bank and then up the bank out of the water like a good girl. We walked over a small amoeba jump too.
Then since Dan was still in a funk I thought that maybe we could go into the jump arena and close the rope and maybe him and I could pop over a jump or two. Well... the railing is a bit too low and there were people in the dressage arenas so I didn't want to let Funny loose just in case she took off... so I looped the lead around the railing. And we walked ever so slightly away. She danced a little and was mad and eventually loosened the lead. So... here's bad life choice #2. I don't know what possessed me. I guess I didn't think about it breaking, just her pulling... but I tied her to the railing. And we trotted a small circle. Literally right behind her. And she got mad and pulled and .... proceeded to pull 3 8' or longer boards up off the railing!!! Holy Crap!!! And they came flying at her! Luckily, she stepped back.. and then stopped. She didn't panic. I jumped off and grabbed her and untied her. Good gravy Holly... again, I have no idea what possessed me to do that. Again, I didn't think about them breaking... I was more thinking she'd fight them, like the trailer. And I'd stop and come back. I don't know... Idiot! So... I put all the boards back on the fenceline and we walked back to the trailer in shame. I very briefly thought about trying to load her and seeing if I could leave with Dan but.... Good life choice #1, I decided not to bother. Today was clearly a stupid day and I was making stupid choices and it was likely that she would NOT be okay and would hurt herself. So.... I made her stand tied while I hosed him off, but that was it. She was at the blocker tie and she danced, but she didn't pull back or freak out, so... a baby win. Then I had to text Lucy and tell her I was a moron. I offered to fix it or pay but she said she would. I'll check tomorrow and make sure they were able to fix it easily enough.
She was not so good about loading up to go home. I don't blame her. Ashland is fun. It took about 10 minutes... but once she decided, she was good.We made it home safe and sound. And while Dan and I were in weird moods... we did have fun. She had fun. She made me laugh in the lake. Good girl!
















No comments:
Post a Comment