Last night doing stalls, she snuck up on me like a sneaky little ninja. I almost jabbed her with the pitchfork.
Today, opted to ride. At home.
tacked up and walked up to arena. told her to not be too crazy because if she scared me or got me hurt, she'd have to go to a cowboy and she wouldn't like that. She shot me a look... and then about 1 minute later as we got to the tree pile by the arena, she spooked, tried to bolt, spun, reared straight up in the air 2 or 3 times, and then flung around me. But, to her credit.. she never ran into or over me and she didn't leave. But.. what did I just say?!?!
Went into arena and did tiny bit of pillar work. Then lunged. Had bridle on so just did it how I do lyric. She was naughty and bucking and cantering and tried to take off a time or two. Managed to pull the bit pretty tight in her mouth a few times as she was rearing and spinning. I did manage to keep her from getting loose and ALMOST made her loose her balance once. She got a little panicky but let me stop her and fix her bit and release the pressure. But seriously girl.. you did it to yourself fool! Then settled and gave me a nice trot. Went to the other way... was going great.. and then I saw it in her eyes... I told her not to do it... but she did. Sassed at me, but much less reactive and aggressive than before. feral child!! Settled nicely so decided to get on.
started off nice. lots of walk and turns. picked up the trot and she was naughty. A couple of mild scoots, one tiny rear and a few tiny bucks. A couple of stop and props. She did get me almost on her withers once and I lost a stirrup but managed to keep her going. I just kicked and sent her. You don't get out of trotting by being naughty! Got a nice trot..brought her down and gave her a break. then trotted again and mostly civilized.
Managed to get through the gate without getting off! Yay. First time doing that. Politely hacked down Jean's driveway and to the trailer. Good girl.
But Jeepers... she's sooo talented... but so sassy! Way naughtier than Dan was in the very beginning. And way naughtier than Lyric. And definitely way naughtier than Fleck. And she's cunning about it. Calculated! Dan's just rowdy... she's working on a plan and executing the plan and learning from it. So.. yeah.. there's that! I just hope I get her on my side soon and get her figured out so we're working together. because she's gonna be soooo nice!!! And having a velociraptor on your side is a good thing!





























































