Monday, January 25, 2021

Boss Mare!

 Oh Funny!!! Dang girl! 

So... after my ride with Dan, he was hot and sweaty so I gave him a quick "bath" and then put his cooler on. He stood in the washrack for a few but then I decided to turn him out with some hay so that he could be distracted by the hay and not roll. So I made three small piles of alfalfa and turned him out. Poor guy... Funny decided it was her hay! 

Hee hee.... She doesn't do this to Fleck, but she has decided that she is in charge of Dan! 



I almost feel bad for Dan. Except she does love him. She just loves food more. ;) 


And because it was a beautiful sunshiney morning :) 

Tuesday, January 19, 2021

Getting rid of the ferals

Hee hee... Between the chilly weather, the longer work days, and being busy with Dan, poor Funbuns has been on the back burner. I've tried to do a few things... picking out her feet some... groomed her some... and she gets fed and blanketed and unblanketed obviously, but... she was going a little rogue. ;) Not really... but.. 

So tonight... after Dan and I rode, I hopped off and put the halter on her and then got back on Dan. We walked into the arena and then Fleck followed us in. She did great! At first she was a little bit draggy behind, but then she got the hang of it. Of course at that point Fleck got all snorty and prancy with his tail up in the air and got her all worked up. She was good though. She would prance and then hit the end of the lead rope and stop, or run into Dan. Then she tried to chew on him some. But we managed to walk over some poles... even one half raised one. And then we walked over the liverpool and she just walked right over it! Smart girl. We did it again so we could get it on video. Then we meandered back to the gate and walked out. After Fleck came out, she stood there while Dan let me maneuver him to shut the gate. Then we headed back to the barn and Fleck came tearing past us. Poor Funny! She kept trying to run and bolt too but she kept hitting the lead rope. She's stop short but was then backwards. Hee hee. But she was good and then she settled and walked like a good girl. :) Dan slimed her a few times. ooops! But she got a cookie when we were done and then it was time to eat. :) 


(those EARS!!! ... and Dan slobbered on her!)






So.. not too shabby for the first time. Although I think it will go smoother when Fleck isn't creating a ruckus!



Saturday, January 9, 2021

Zoomies!

 Hee hee... Today was COLD! Like super cold! And damp. At least when I left for my lesson with Dan. When I got back, the sun had come out and the breeze had died and the dampness had gone. So... I pulled clothes. Well, Dan got his mid weight with no neck put on but Funny and Fleck were naked because they are fuzzy. So, Funny was following Dan around trying to chew on his blanket. I couldn't quite catch it on video but.. I did catch this! Hee hee... She decided to take off and go for a run! I love how she digs in and really goes for speed! Wheeee!!!



Of course she went careening into the barn and slid out on the mud on the concrete! Doh! I didn't see it but heard it and saw the skid marks. I'm not sure if she stayed upright or not but she came back out acting fine, so... ?? Fingers crossed. 

She's so silly! I just love her!







Sunday, January 3, 2021

Trailer Loading Day

 

Today I had a little bit of extra time so Funny got caught and we trekked to the trailer. The ramp was already down so I walked her right up and right up she went. :) She was chill and cool and like... "okay, what now?". So then I tried to back her off. NOPE!! Poor girl said NOPE and tried to turn around. I moved around to try to get the other side's butt bar down so I could slide the divider open and she turned more and got wedged!!! EEEKS! No baby girl.. that's not how this works! I couldn't get the pin out because she was wedged up against it. Uh oh! I was actually starting to worry that she would go down because of how she was stuck, but.. luckily, she's still all cartilaginous and was able to finally wiggle her way completely around. Thank goodness it was the extra tall and extra wide one. She then calmly walked right off the ramp. I then undid the butt bar and moved the divider over and we walked back on and off repeatedly to make sure she didn't scare herself. She was super. We tried backing off but she said nope.. not yet. So then we went to the front of the house to go walk on the concrete and maybe try backing over different terrain. And all of a sudden she was almost on top of me! Poor girl! The tarp door on the shavings shed flapped in the wind behind us and scared the tar out of her. She didn't bolt though and I was able to talk her down and then she watched it wide eyed and nostrils flared while it blew a little more. Then it stopped and she was okay. We walked into the garage and backed out of it. No big deal. So then we went back to the trailer and got on but only partially and backed down. We could do all of that but we still couldn't get to backing the hind feet over the edge to the ramp. No worries. We'll get there. Overall, good progress today. :) 







Saturday, January 2, 2021

Oh Funny!!! You're funny!

 Oh I LOVE her!!! She makes me smile. It's so funny how she has decided (or smartly caught on) that Uncle Fleck should be respected and that big brother Dan is the fun one that she can play with and boss around. Watch this!!! hee hee... 


She makes my heart happy. It makes me happy that she knows to respect Fleck, because he has earned it. And it makes my heart and soul happy that her and Danny can play. And quite frankly, it makes my brain happy that she will be the boss, because help us all if Dan ever becomes top dog! And that will take some of the pressure of Flecky pie. :) 

And to boot, she's so pretty!




Goodbye 2020; Hello 2021

 I don't have quite the same vehemence against 2020 as most people do. I mean... Funny!!! She's a 2020 blessing! So is my new farm. So... while everyone else is cursing 2020... I will appreciate it for the good things it had to offer and still be sad for those who suffered and lost friends or family because of Covid. 

So... New Years Eve was a dreary icky day that threatened to rain all day but never actually really did more than mist heavily. It was so humid that you got wet without it actually raining. It just... sort of condensed onto you. And the barn. And the floor... everything! Yucky! And it was fairly warm so.. Funny was naked. Except by the time I fed she was a little chilly. And baby girl does NOT like to be wet. She gets so itchy! She was slamming herself up against the stall wall, her water bucket, her feed tub, her hay net.... scrubbing herself to try to dry off and scratch. Gracious! I tried rubbing her dry a bit but she was pretty wet. I left them in for a little bit and once she finally dried mostly, I put her sheet on and tossed them out. 

Luckily the weather was so rainy on and off that the fireworks were pretty minimal. She didn't seem phased one bit though. Just came right up to me to say hi like usual. Had a big drink... then went back to her hay. :) Smart sane girl!



These were taken New Years Eve Eve. ;) Before the rain hit!

This morning everyone was happy as a clam but super soggy and gross. And the weather was worse today. It rained and rained and rained some more. Non-stop more or less. Although there was a brief moment first thing in the morning when it stopped. I put hay in their stalls and left them in for a little bit just because it was so nasty. But then it sort of simmered down so they went back out again. So no real good photo opportunitities. 



Ha ha!! She was helping me clean stalls! Oh baby girl!!! 

HAPPY 2021!!! I'm sure this will be a big exciting year for us though. We'll refresh our trailer loading and riding skills... make sure our farrier standing skills are solid. We'll work on leading and tying and make sure those are solid. We'll work on yielding to pressure. And we will start ponying with Dan (probably... unless it's a disaster and Fleck has to come out of retirement!). We will get introduced to saddle pads and surcingles. All sorts of fun stuff for this year!


Post Christmas Photos

 Hee hee.... I tried! She's so hard to get good photos of because she wants to come up and say hi. :) She's so sweet!









SO.... nothing super great, but I was able to make these two work pretty well... 



And then there are these gems ;) ha ha.. She kept knocking the poinsettia down!