So yesterday I worked so Funny got a day off. And then today I just lunged her. She happily went to the arena and lunged quite nicely. No real shenanigans. She got a tiny bit sassy once but to be fair, I did get her with the whip because she was leaning in. Today was a short lunge but it was focused on her body position and keeping her square and upright. We did do some pillar work too first. She was great though! And lots of licking and chewing, so yay! She didn't even really get sweaty because she didn't get loose and squirt off and because I kept it short and we had a lovely breeze. So I just turned her loose. She hung out with me for snuggles at the gate for a few and then I walked off. She let me get about 8 strides away and then she trotted off after me. Awww... We snuggled some more. We'll play tomorrow baby girl!
I'm hoping tomorrow we can get our second ride in. Mike said he'd come watch! Then she'll get another few days off. My plan is to do no more than 2 or 3 rides a week and very short ones. We'll stick to the arena until I'm pretty convinced she's balanced and not going to be too naughty! Then we'll go for a trail ride and once we get that down, my plan is to just do 2 trail rides a week for the Summer. Once Fall hits I think I'll be too busy to do too much so she'll get "turned back out" and just do some lunging once a week or so. And maybe more ponying again, but.. my plan is to not do any riding over the Fall and Winter. Or maybe just a few here and there. ha ha. We'll see.







No comments:
Post a Comment