Sunday, November 12, 2023

15th Ride: Cold and soggy trails

 I'm so proud of the monkey!! She was stellar today! It rained for about 12 straight hours yesterday so today was cold and soggy. It wasn't that chilly temperature wise but it felt colder because of the humidity. But Missy texted and asked if I was riding.... and I said YES PLEASE! I have been wanting to get Funny out! I was hoping to get another arena ride on her before I took her to Ashland, but... oh well. I did lunge her briefly in the roundpen before we headed out though! I'm not that brave! And the arenas were closed at Ashland. She was a little sassy in the roundpen but quickly settled into a nice lovely trot. We did a few circles each way once she settled and then... off we went to Ashland.

 

I was a little worried she might not want to load but she self loaded like a pro! Better than either Dan or Lyric honestly! We got to Ashland and there were three other horses getting tacked up. She was good and I got her groomed and tacked up. The other riders left before I was done and left their dog tied under the trailer. It was whining and Funny got all freaked out! But, she let me untie her and walk her towards it and once she saw the dog, she settled down. 

 
I walked her to the mounting block and she was a little on edge but... I just... got on! She was good. She felt a tiny bit humpy but she softened up quickly. Good, because.. I'm not sure how brave I actually am. Albeit, brave enough to get on, so there is that. We walked to the XC field and then into the woods, heading towards the lake. She settled quickly but as we hit that second crossing where you could turn to XC or keep going to the lake, she stopped and spun around. What? Jeesh? Oh... ha! She saw/heard Indi coming up behind us and it took me a few seconds more to even see them. Good girl. We walked up to each other and said hi. Funny was polite at first but did squeal and pin her ears. Hee hee. Such a girl! We let Missy lead since she has kicked and she was fine with that. Although Indi does walk a little slower than her sometimes. 

 

We had a good ride. We avoided the lake for obvious reasons and went through both creeks. She was brave and didn't hesitate on either NOR did she try to stop and roll or splash even. Good girl. Although when we came back past the lake on our way home she was pulling HARD trying to get into the lake. Hee hee. I had to pony club kick and really pull on the rein to get her to go back to the path. No baby girl, it is TOO COLD to go for a roll!! Ha ha. She acquiesced luckily.  Missy ended up walking us back to where we met and we said goodbye. But when Missy left and I tried to turn Funny back she got pissed! She got a little bouncy! I did manage to get her moving, especially when Missy stopped and gave us a moment. She was good and only threatened to be naughty one more short time and then she marched on. She did squirt sideways around the boat a little but she went. And after we got untacked she loaded back up nicely. It took her about... 10 seconds, but that was it. GOOD GIRL!

 
I'm so proud of her. Not only was she super for her 14th ride.. I think it's only like her 3rd or 4th trail ride and it was cold and breezy and she hasn't been ridden in awhile! AND... to add the icing on the cupcake... she was relaxed and soft with a soft neck and a lifted swinging back for 95% of the ride! Yay! I'm so proud of her!!

 

 







No comments:

Post a Comment