Oh Stinky girl! Not really, but... for her. ;) Today was Mike and Holly date day but I managed to get back in time to sneak in a ride. And I thought I should probably get off and do the gate, but I was being lazy so I didn't. And of course, she snuck in. But I figured it's good for her tendons and ligaments to run through the sand footing. And run she did. And buck. But she mostly stayed out of our way. Although she did get all excited and animated when Jean's two mares and two foals came out by the fence.
Anyways, when I was done... she wouldn't come out. Again. So I left Dan sitting there and grabbed her by throwing my extra shirt around her neck and using it to lead her in. And she bit me! It was a tiny nip, but it left a mark. So then I smacked her and she ran and then she ran a bit more. But I finally got her out. After I hosed Dan off I grabbed her for a little bit of learning. I figured if she was biting, she'd gone a bit rogue. ;)
We went into the round pen and just worked on leading. I go, you go. I stop, you stop. She got the hang of it. Then we tried it with her on my left side instead of my right side and that was super weird and super hard! Which is interesting, because I usually lead her from the right side with Dan. But we got the hang of it. Then I sent her out on the "lunge" and we just practiced the thing where I point and she goes and then "crouching tiger". She picked up on it pretty quick. Backing up is not her thing though. Although she does better if I just push on her chest. She's not so good at backing up with the twirling lead rope. Which is fine, as that's not really my thing. But we did try to work on having her read my body posture.
Then we went into the wash rack, which was wet from Dan. So it took her a minute to sniff and decide before she put her feet in. But she did after only a little hesitation. And she let me hose her off entirely. She humped her back a little bit but she didn't wiggle too much and she didn't spin or bolt. Of course the enclosed wash rack helps a lot! Good baby girl!






No comments:
Post a Comment