Today was a miserable winter day. It was cold. It rained pretty much all day. Not a pouring downpour... just a slight drizzle that would slack off for 30 minutes to an hour or so and start back up again. The radar was mostly wrong. So, basically an annoying frustrating day for trying to ride. Especially after yesterday was kind of nice. And I'm extra cranky and annoyed with everything today. And also simultaneously feel like I want to cry. My plan was to go work on a horse this morning, hit the grocery store on my way home, and then ride. This morning the weather app said that it would stop raining at 2ish. Yeah.. they lied.
So, finally I just said screw it. It was about 3ish and there was only small sprinkles so I decided to ride. I thought about taking the kids to Ashland and hacking, but decided since it was getting late that I would just ride at home. Plus I figured that way I could do some flat work with Dan in the arena if the arena was ridable and the weather cooperated. So I did. I tied them both at the trailer and tacked Dan up and groomed Funny. Right as I was about to get on something spooked them both and they both were spinning and sliding around. ugh. I finally got them organized and got on. And then the rain started up again but it was more of a spitting mist than real rain. And they were wild!! Dan was totally on the muscle and Funny was spicy. She even reared up after we got across the street. But, she settled quickly and Dan kept power walking and she did too. Although at one point he did reach over and grab her on the neck hard. Seriously dude?! Why do you keep doing that!? It's rude!
We had a good walk around the neighborhood. Funny walked right through the puddles, even some deep ones. Then I took her into the arena and she walked over the liverpool, over some poles on the ground, and we even walked through the cavalettis'. We did one little trit trot because the ground was kind of icky. And she saw herself in the mirror! Hee hee. I guess she hasn't been in here since we put the mirrors up! She was very confused. She kept looking behind the mirror to see where that horse went. Smart girl!
I turned her out so I could do a little bit with dan and she want bucking and galloping off. Hee hee...
But yay baby girl! You got a little bit of adventuring in. :)
No comments:
Post a Comment