Sunday, January 30, 2022

Her first Oxer!

 Funny has been bored so today we went adventuring. :) 

We went to Ashland. She loaded up very nicely with Dan in there first. When we got to Ashland I took Dan off and left her on the trailer. She stood there while I groomed Dan, peed, and tacked him up. I wanted to ease her into standing on the trailer while I ride Dan so she can come adventuring more often. :) She was not happy, but she wasn't awful. She pawed and snorted and danced. She somehow managed to get her leadrope wrapped around her neck twice too... which is a little scary. I gave her cookies when she was quiet. So.. we'll see. We'll do that more often. And hopefully space it out each time so that it gets to be a non-issue.

 

We hacked out and had fun. She was a super good girl. We walked over logs.. snacked on some grass... trotted a fair amount... and had fun. Oh, and while she is so very much like Dan, she is not exactly like him! Somehow as we started up the big hill behind the XC field... I dropped the lead rope. I don't know if she stopped or what happened. She just stood there looking at us. I got Dan turned around and we walked back to her and I grabbed the rope and off we went. Ha ha.. but definitely not what Dan did that one time I dropped his rope! (he took off at the horse park and disappeared!) Oh, and we saw a coyote or a fox loping across the halfshire field to the hay field. He was pretty. We finished in the stadium ring area because there was a bunch of people cross country schooling and we didn't want to disturb anyone. There was a small vertical and a small oxer set up in the warm up area by stadium. Like... amoeba sized! Maybe 12 inches. So I thought... let's see. We trotted up to it and over we went. And she just jumped it! She didn't have to stop and throw herself over. She just jumped it. So then I got greedy and tried the oxer. And she jumped that one too!!! Baby girls "first oxer". :) It made my heart so happy! I really think that perhaps she was sore from her OCD's previously when she tried to jump and was all awkward about it. Good girl!! She got lots of praise. Then we went in the arena to trot on their footing.. just to give her a different feel. And I couldn't help it. We trotted the cross rail too! And she happily jumped that one too! And that was probably a legit crossrail... maybe only 12" in the middle, but maybe a hair taller. 

So then we headed back. Kelli was riding and said hi and said if I wanted to try riding Dan and leaving her in the trailer, she was around to help if needed. I almost said no, because she had been so good, but... help was there, so.. I tied Dan to the trailer and tried to load Funny without him. She said no. She tried a couple of times but never got the hind feet moving. I realized... it would be pretty rude to make her work, jump things, and then load on her own.. and then leave her there by herself. That's kind of rude. Not a reward for loading on her own. So, I tied her back up and untacked Dan. Then we tried loading her first again. This time she went. It took a few attempts, but she did it. So she got cookies and then I put Dan on. It was tempting but I didn't think it was the right thing. So we headed home. 

Then later tonight... while she was eating dinner I put the bemer boots on her. They finished dinner and she was out in the field and I was trying to catch her to pull her boot because it had started to slip. Apparently I have scared her with the sparkly unicorn crop.... (that I carry to keep them from snatching that amazing crack alfalfa hay that they seem to tromple me to get to).  Because she kept moving away from me. She'd let me get to her and then move through me. So, of course, I tried smacking her chest (politely at first) with the crop to get her to stand. Well then she got all wigged out and was running around. ARGH!! PLEASE don't break my boots! I finally chased her into the stall and I felt so bad. She was shaking! She had her butt turned to me but didn't kick. I sweet talked her and petted her butt and then she let me pull the boots off. And then she was fine. Ugh. So yeah.. she's gonna be one to get me to watch my frustration temper. But luckily for me... she forgave me quickly. And to my credit, I only threw my crop at her once... but was very much sweet talking her and not angry the rest of the time. 





Here's baby girls first oxer. :) It's so cute and little. But an oxer guys!!! 



Good girl... just wait for us to come get you. :) 







No comments:

Post a Comment