Today I took the heathens for a trail ride at Ashland. I was sad that Peri couldn't join us, but it may have been a good thing as Dan is protective of Funny when she's in heat and she is so smitten with him. They were great on the trails though, but we didn't really run into anyone either.
She loaded up great but Dan was already on. Given the fact that she was in raging heat I decided that today was not the day to work on distancing and learning to stand in the trailer, so.. I pulled them both off before I groomed and tacked Dan up. Then we headed off. Since the XC field was open I decided to take her there first. We went up the baby bank, and she actually went up before Dan started up. Then we came back down, and again, really no hesitation. I didn't bother doing the bigger one. We went to the ditch and she was perfect there too, and we even did the BN and Novice ones. Then we headed to the water and she went right in and.. then down she went. And it was so slimy. She got up and had globs of muddy water sliding off her! Ha ha! Unfortunately I ended up losing the lead rope cause she pawed over it and then rolled. And Judy had wandered up on Teller at that point and I was a little concerned that if Funny saw him she might want to go say hi and I wasn't sure how that would go, so I didn't grab my phone. But she was SOOOO slimy and gross. She played for a good bit and I finally got the lead rope back (all wet and slimy! Gross) and we went up the bank out of the water. Then we went over the little cheese log and then back down the bank. Then we trotted a few logs and then we headed to the fields. We did a little trotting but mostly walked. They were great and we had fun.We finished our ride back at the lake so she could rinse the sludge off. She kind of got clean. ;) Oh, and she thought about going for a swim but decided not to. I wondered if she would and am curious if she ever will or if she just wants to roll. It was a glorious day! She didn't want to load up first and honestly, I was starving so I ended up putting Dan on first and saved that for another day.
But yeah...so eventing her is going to be fun! I'm going to have to be super careful that she doesn't roll with me in the water every time. :)









No comments:
Post a Comment