Baby girl was SUPER today and did some big girl things :) 
We met Peri and Cuart and Kelli and Marvin for a trail ride. I made Funny load up first to Ashland and she did. It only took half a minute and some cookie bribes. Then Dan loaded up and we headed out. When we got to Ashland I left her on the trailer while I groomed and tacked Dan up. She only fussed a little bit. Mostly because she was eating his good alfalfa hay from his hay net. Which is just fine! I've been dropping her alfalfa down because of the calcium phosphorous ratios and then I ran out of the good stuff for everyone, so it was a nice treat. Which, is super helpful information for the future! Then I got her off and groomed her and off we went.
We led the whole way and she was great! At one point she turned around and glared at Cuart. It was hilarious! I've never seen her do the mare stare before but she was telling Cuart to back off! She only did it a few times at a particular section, so who knows! She was great the rest of the time. We did have to walk slow and stop a lot because Marvin was struggling and slow as molasses.
We avoided creeks and the lake because the girls didn't want to do any of that, so she didn't get to swim. Sad for her. But she was so good. We even trotted the little log in tandem and they were both great. When we got back to the trailer, Peri and Kelli went to the arena. I got off and tied Dan up and loaded Funny up. She went on pretty quickly with treats and then stood there. I got back on Dan and rode him to the arena. She was SOOOOO good. She called a few times, but she had his hay and then Kimberly had come back and she could see Mellow out of the trailer window, so that distracted her some. Dan was awfully distracted and hollowed out looking for her, but we managed to get in one or two good circles. When he was good and soft and she was quiet, I went back. It was probably no more than 7 minutes, but.. it's a start! And now I have the alfalfa as a bribe too. :)
After we came back I pulled her back off the trailer as a reward and because I wanted to pick her feet. Then I tried to get her to load first again and she said nope! It took about 10 minutes. A little longer because Peri tried to help, which... was kind, but just distracted Funny. I finally told Peri that I thought she was more focused on what Peri was doing behind her than concentrating on getting on the trailer and as soon as Peri walked away, she got on shortly after.
So yay!!! Great day!





No comments:
Post a Comment