Wednesday, August 31, 2022

A bit!

Ilove my snuggly bunny! She always just wants to hang out and cuddle. :) We had pre-breakfast snuggles this morning. Then after they munched on their hay a bit we headed to Rana's. She loaded right up, although Dan was on first. 

   

We got to Rana's and I turned her out first. She ran a bit at first but settled down after a bit. Yay! So then when it was her turn she was already pouring sweat. Poor girl! It was literally dripping down her legs. But she wasn't blowing. It was just that hot and sunny and humid. Ugh. I told Rana that the baby horse show required her to wear a bit and bridle. Ugh. So frustrating! She's 2! So, it was the next step anyways to add a bit to the lunging cavesson. We just maybe weren't quite planning on doing it just yet. But oh well. So we did. Rana liked the thinnest bit she had better than mine, although mine wasn't that much thicker. All of them were a bit too long for her mouth, but... we'll make do. So we hung it on the lung cavesson and stuck it in her mouth. She took it alright but can't figure out how to eat a cookie with it in. Hee hee. I know baby girl, I know. It's tricky! Too many things in that tiny mouth of yours!


 

We headed down to the arena and she was super. She was a good girl and worked quite nicely, despite chewing on that bit. But she eventually softened to it and even got a quiet mouth and left it alone a good chunk of the time! And she had her slow bouncy trot too! Not the racing trot. Rana even saw her trampoline back!!! Yay! And Rana commented on her neck too and how nice it was developing. YES!!! But yep, basically we worked on the same stuff we did with Dan. Putting in a half halt and getting her to bend properly! We quit pretty early as it was a lot for her brain with the bit and when we did quit, she had given me a lovely two circles with bouncy back and correct bend and quiet mouth. She got a rinse too and then we went home!

Now I've just got to fit the bridle to her head and we should be as prepared as we can be for the baby horse show next week!


 




Wednesday, August 24, 2022

Mean Girls are Jealous Girls

 Poor Funny bunny. She has currently lost her boyfriend. Or is having to share.

 

I turned Dan out with Lyric this am. Dan is obsessed with Lyric and poor Funny is sad. She lost her buddy! Her and Fleck were fine chilling together, but you can tell she's sad. So later in the day, I turned them all out together. It didn't go terribly, but it didn't go great. I opened both fields so they would have room and they kept coming into the corners. Ugh. They were all running and Funny fired off some shots. She managed to kick Dan in the right stifle. Seriously girl?! Ugh. Then shortly after her and Dan body slammed into each other. Okay, guys... come on! Luckily it was nothing major. But Funny was worse than Fleck! She managed to get a few kicks aimed at Lyric, but they eventually settled down. 

 

I tried to ease her hurt feelings by taking her and Dan on a hack later that day. Dan was not amused, but Funny had fun. After our hack I put him in the trailer and lunged her. She did so well. She was quiet and we got some nice work. After our short lunge session we practiced our trot triangles for the baby horse show. She was super. And her trot was quite nice!! Pillar work for the win! Yahoo!!

     

Then tonight after dinner she finally made nice and inserted herself as a third wheel. She's just tagging along and ignoring the fact that they don't really care about her right now. It makes me sad for her, but I know they'll all eventually settle and Dan still loves her. And it may help me with the separation anxiety. :) Hopefully!

 






Sunday, August 21, 2022

A is for Awesome! Mostly

Last night was a bit crazy! I was just getting to the point where I had decided it was time to get off the computer and go to bed but on FB people had posted about the crazy storms popping up. And then I heard some rumbles. So I checked the radar and it was coming. I decided perhaps I would bring the horses in as Lyric was out by herself and Dan wouldn't leave to come into the barn. So I walked out there and the wind was whipping and then the lightning started. It was a little scary! I caught Lyric fairly quickly and then Dan. Then I almost had Funny and Fleck startled her, so they took off a bit. But luckily I managed to get everyone in. Of course I was catching them during the worst of the lightning and wind. But once they were in the rain started. It ended up only raining about 20 minutes and the thunder and lightning disappeared even quicker than that. Doh! But they stayed in because I had already tossed hay and did waters. 

 

Everyone had a long night. Fleck kept making Lyric squeal, which kept us all up. But oh well. After breakfast we went for a hack with Judy and Kelli. Funny was a good girl and loaded well! She was fine with the other two horses and of course Dan led and she was with us. We stopped at the lake and of course she rolled. Almost underneath Dan twice! At the end of our ride I was off and trying to get Dan's bridle off and hadn't tied either Funny or Dan and Kelli let Marvin come up to say hi to Funny. Apparently he'd been trying to say hi all day. I kind of warned Kelli that I had no idea what would happen and if she waited a minute I could get Dan tied up and handle Funny, but she didn't wait. Funny was so mad she turned and fired out at Marvin with her hind end quick!!! Kelli jumped and luckily Funny wasn't really aiming to get them, or her aim sucks because she missed by a fair amount. But it was still scary! Naughty girl! Although I think she's extra protective because of Lyric and the mayhem that's causing. 

 
Once I got them situated I put Funny back in the trailer. It took maybe 3 tries to get her on by herself! Good girl! She's learning quick! She was a bit fussy while I worked Dan but not terrible. And after a few minutes she settled down. I did take her lead rope off this time! I learned to be smart about that.  After Dan got his turn and a rinse I put him back on and unloaded her. Then we went to lunge. We started with the pillar work and she was super! We did Pillars 1 and 2 and then started lunging. She was a little sassy on the lunge. Hee hee. She was cracking me up too because she goes cross eyed when lunging her. Hee hee. It's like she's trying to focus on the lunge line between her nose. Rana is like "keep her eye on you". Ummmm.... ha ha.. But she got her slow trot on and we even got a bouncy back! Like... she had trampoline back!!!! GOOD GIRL! So then she got a rinse and of course she loaded right up! 







Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Redemption! More gold stars!

 Ha ha.. I'm sensing a trend. And thank goodness I know this trend already from Danomite. Such a good kiddo.... Heathen.... such a good kiddo.... FERAL BEAST!! ha ha.

Today was a good day!

Both ponies field tripped to Rana's again. I left early, but somehow pulled in right at our start time. Which, Rana was sweet about and didn't care, but I don't like it! They had the babies turned out next to the paddock I had put Funny in last time, so... I decided to leave Dan on the trailer and start with Funny. It was overcast enough that he was fine in there and I don't quite trust her yet on their alone for more than a few minutes at a time. I was hoping to do her second so she could run off some steam, but it all worked out. She was stellar! 

I groomed her and picked her feet and swapped her to her rope halter in anticipation of it being a disaster. We walked down to the arena and only had one little rear. Which, seemed like it was an acceptable rear. Ha... acceptable rear. I meant she had a fair excuse and it was not directed at me and she came right back down and settled. We did some pillar one and walking in the indoor and she settled really quickly and was licking and chewing and soft. Rana was impressed. I swapped her out for the cavesson as she was being so good and we went to work. 

She wasn't perfect, but she tried and we had lots of good stuff. It was helpful because she did some of the stuff she does at home so I was able to get Rana's advice. But Rana was impressed. She's starting to figure out that she can soften her neck and lower her head and keep trotting. She gets really lovely when she goes there, but she can't hold it for long. BUT, if I plan ahead.... knowing that when she drops her head its hard and thus she often stops trotting, I can plan ahead and cluck and encourage her. Also, side note... try to coordinate my clucks with my whips, so that eventually the clucks get the forward response! And speaking of planning ahead... as she makes the egg shape, I can plan ahead. Which, I knew... and had been trying to do, but it's hard to coordinate all the things. Ha ha. Rana said to make sure that I'm not holding when I do these things.. that I'm half halting and releasing, not just hanging. And the things I'm aiming for are...

  • soft, turned off brachiocephalic/underneck
  • dropped nose, but forward and reaching with her nose
  • slow trot rhythm, not running
  • her eyes on me (Half halt if not)
  • bend in the barrel - but this will take some time. This is hard for her, especially going to the left
  • watch that her inside hind tracks slightly to the inside of her inside front, and the outside hind tracks slightly inside the track of the outside front. 
  • she likes to fishtail, so make sure that I stay at her shoulder, although tracking left I do have to get a hair more behind her shoulder
  • She should pay attention to my body language so match my near leg to her near foreleg and step into her to push her shoulder out. 
I think that was it. Ha! It's a lot to pay attention to. But we managed to get a lot of nice work. She's really starting to figure it out and there was only one little piss off moment. And that's because she turned her circle into an egg and I fought her and she pulled. Oh, and at one point (hee hee..) the flags on the rail flapped as she came into that corner and she stopped and had to investigate. She was a little jumpy but was super brave and charged forward to investigate! But yes, we got some good stuff. She's still struggling with the bend and lifting her back, but she's getting the slower trot and lowering her head and turning off her neck. And she's starting to get the bend, at least as far as her feet tracking up. We did both directions and then went back to the right again. I did ask Rana how much was too much and how little was too little? Like... on the days she's an idiot and goes squirting around like a food.... obviously that's not ideal. And even if she is working properly, is daily or 5 days a week too much? Because she almost seems like she needs daily work or she reverts to feral. Rana said it was tough but that she could easily do 10 minutes or less of proper biomechanical lunge work without having any ill effects. Because she's not putting any shear or torque on her joints. But when she squirts off, that's not ideal. She said to try to engage her brain too and move her body parts specifically - like...the shoulder... then the hind end... then the barrel. So yeah... I guess the correct answer is going to be "play it by ear" and go by how Funny is doing. Plus I can add in some hacking with Dan to help with the feral tendencies and also do pillar work every day without necessarily doing arena work. And maybe on the days after a break, use the roundpen vs the arena.

So then I rinsed her and put her in the giant foaling stall. She screamed a good bit, but she was fine. When Dan was done they stood tied to the trailer eating hay for about 15 minutes while I cleaned out the trailer and then snuggled with the new baby horse. I loaded Dan first and she self loaded right after him. (Sort of cheating, but.. she was so good I figured it wasn't a day to fight that battle or challenge her). We stopped and got hay at the feed store and then headed home. GOOD GIRL!!!!! She's growing up so nicely. Rana even mentioned (unprompted) today how her neck was coming along nicely. Which is great because I have a hard time telling with her. Yay!




Sunday, August 14, 2022

Gone Feral Again

 Good grief!

She's gonna be worse than Dan and probably worse than the double Storm Cat OTTB chestnut mare! 

Wild child today. Ran me over once and spooked 3 times while doing pillars. then got loose a few times while lunging. Finally finished with some decent lunge work with her stretching down. Still not quite in pillar 3, but better




Saturday, August 13, 2022

SASSY!

 Worked tonight in the round pen. Sassy pants. Just wanted to run and jump. 

got some good work at the end though, even some licks and chews









Thursday, August 11, 2022