Sunday, August 21, 2022

A is for Awesome! Mostly

Last night was a bit crazy! I was just getting to the point where I had decided it was time to get off the computer and go to bed but on FB people had posted about the crazy storms popping up. And then I heard some rumbles. So I checked the radar and it was coming. I decided perhaps I would bring the horses in as Lyric was out by herself and Dan wouldn't leave to come into the barn. So I walked out there and the wind was whipping and then the lightning started. It was a little scary! I caught Lyric fairly quickly and then Dan. Then I almost had Funny and Fleck startled her, so they took off a bit. But luckily I managed to get everyone in. Of course I was catching them during the worst of the lightning and wind. But once they were in the rain started. It ended up only raining about 20 minutes and the thunder and lightning disappeared even quicker than that. Doh! But they stayed in because I had already tossed hay and did waters. 

 

Everyone had a long night. Fleck kept making Lyric squeal, which kept us all up. But oh well. After breakfast we went for a hack with Judy and Kelli. Funny was a good girl and loaded well! She was fine with the other two horses and of course Dan led and she was with us. We stopped at the lake and of course she rolled. Almost underneath Dan twice! At the end of our ride I was off and trying to get Dan's bridle off and hadn't tied either Funny or Dan and Kelli let Marvin come up to say hi to Funny. Apparently he'd been trying to say hi all day. I kind of warned Kelli that I had no idea what would happen and if she waited a minute I could get Dan tied up and handle Funny, but she didn't wait. Funny was so mad she turned and fired out at Marvin with her hind end quick!!! Kelli jumped and luckily Funny wasn't really aiming to get them, or her aim sucks because she missed by a fair amount. But it was still scary! Naughty girl! Although I think she's extra protective because of Lyric and the mayhem that's causing. 

 
Once I got them situated I put Funny back in the trailer. It took maybe 3 tries to get her on by herself! Good girl! She's learning quick! She was a bit fussy while I worked Dan but not terrible. And after a few minutes she settled down. I did take her lead rope off this time! I learned to be smart about that.  After Dan got his turn and a rinse I put him back on and unloaded her. Then we went to lunge. We started with the pillar work and she was super! We did Pillars 1 and 2 and then started lunging. She was a little sassy on the lunge. Hee hee. She was cracking me up too because she goes cross eyed when lunging her. Hee hee. It's like she's trying to focus on the lunge line between her nose. Rana is like "keep her eye on you". Ummmm.... ha ha.. But she got her slow trot on and we even got a bouncy back! Like... she had trampoline back!!!! GOOD GIRL! So then she got a rinse and of course she loaded right up! 







No comments:

Post a Comment