Tuesday, February 21, 2023

Danger!!!!

 Oh sassy gingers!! Sigh... Today... today made me wonder if I have it in me to be a red mare owner. Both of them were living up to the reputation!

Funny was actually fairly good. Well.. maybe. Maybe not. Okay, not really. Ha. Kind of! 

We did some long lining today. We started off with our pillar walks. And... she's totally cheating in pillar 3 tracking right. She does not want to abduct laterally. She'll go backwards, but not necessarily laterally. So we worked on that and got a little better. We also need to work on her lift! I let her walk through the groundpoles too and over the cavaletti. 

 

Then I put on the surcingle and pad and long lines and we started off. She immediately pulled back hard and about ripped my arm off my body! Oooooh, that's gonna hurt later. I managed to hang on and she went into a rear. I thought about potentially trying to flip her, but it's hard to do. Especially with two lines and then she spun, so they weren't lined up like that were. I didn't flip her but came close. And then she ran a little but I got her stopped. But after that she was pretty darn good. I managed to get resituated and off we went. Oh, and maybe she did scoot another time because somehow she ended up with the one rein over her nose and on her forehead. So I fixed that. And then she was pretty good! We got some high headed trotting, but managed to get mostly stretching down and a little out trot. We even trotted the poles! We quit when she was a good girl. I pulled everything off and she saw someting in the woods and went on high alert! Hee hee. She then scooted and bolted to the end of the arena, tail up and flagged! Then I had the gate open so she bolted out the gate and went galloping for the herd. Except she hit the slight rain washout and lost her hind end... like two or three times before she could get going. Her hind end basically wiped out. But then she bucked and went off. She seemed fine afterwards. Just embarassed. ha ha. Good thing there wasn't a real mountain lion in the woods! You might have been eaten girlfriend!

As I was walking back she came up to me and apologized. So I took her in for a rinse as she was all sweaty and I think that's partly why she was so itchy. She got her coat sprayed with the coat spray and then I put medicine on her skin funk and turned her out. 

Rough day with the gingers! And... a little bit Dan too. Doh!

 


No comments:

Post a Comment