Thursday, February 16, 2023

Trusting my Gut

 Today was such a pretty day. I even had time to work the Funbuns. :) 

 

(these were actually yesterdays sunrise)

She was up by the arena after I worked Dan, so I snagged her and into the arena we went. We skipped our pillar walks because Jacel was coming to ride Jean's horses and I didn't want to be in her way. Plus I had a lesson with Lyric after and had to have time to get her ready. 

So we immediately got started. I decided that maybe I would try long lining her today. I thought this might be nicer than the side reins because it had more give. Although I would have to be very quick and dextrous to be kind with them. And then I had forgotten the bit back at the barn, but decided that this was even better! I could hook them to the side of the cavesson and teach her about pressure without using her mouth just yet! And then once she gets used to the idea, then I can add in the bit and attach the lines to the bit. Turns out.. that was a really smart thought for me. I'm so glad I did it. 

Funny was pretty good for getting the pad and surcingle on and then the long lines attached. I did it how we did it with Jessica at the clinic. Inside line straight to the "bit" and outside line through the top surcingle ring to the "bit". And before I could get the lines untangled (Shame on me for not untangling them first) Funny started walking and then maybe panicked a little with the lines or the girth or the lines touching her? And scooted, then tried to rear. Then bolted a bit and I almost lost her! I was running behind her at full tilt! Then the lines snagged on the cavaletti! Eeeks. Luckily I had the lines and was able to put some pressure to get her to turn. Although that sort of caused her to panic a bit more - hence the rear. But it ended quickly and she stopped and turned to me and I was able to pull the lines out from the cavaletti (This is why (well partly why) I prefer NOT to have jumps/cavaletti's in the arena while I'm lunging feral beasties). I got the lines untangled and then we started off again. 

 

She was a bit rowdy! Nothing major but a few bouts of resistance and irritance at the lines. At one point I was thinking... good grief! I'm glad we're doing all this before I get on! I will need my air vest! But, she quickly settled into a nice trot. A faster than usual nice trot, but a nice trot. I was even able to have an outside rein with the slightest of pressures. I'll do more the next time we do it but today was more about introducing her to the rigging than actually aiming for a connection. Then we went the other way and she was a hair explosive that way too. But she settled much quicker and gave me some nice stuff that way too. 

Right when we started (and she bolted and snagged the caveletti's) Jean's interns had showed up with all 3 horses. Maybe that was why she scooted initially. ha ha. Anyways, since they were politely (and probably for their own safety as much as mine) waiting to enter, we didn't do much. And Jacel pulled up pretty soon after anyways. But baby girl was a bit sweaty! I told her she was brilliant and a good girl and let her loose and she took off. Hee hee... oh, if I can harness that energy and spice for good... we're gonna have SOOOO much fun!


No comments:

Post a Comment