Tuesday, April 4, 2023

Baby First

 Today I was a little pouty. Dan's lame... and I'm not sure I should ride. Although realistically, a long walk at Ashland would have been fine. And I could have ponied Funny. I thought about it. But, the weather was overcast and threatening most of the morning and by the time it cleared up, I had already committed to cleaning out the trailer. And my lesson with Lyric got cancelled.. because they are all going to the show this weekend instead. Which I can't do. Cause neither of my big horses are ready and... I'm just pouty and sad and taking everything personally because Dan's broken. Again. Sigh.. 

So.. I cheered myself up! I grabbed the buns and we headed to the barn. She got groomed and we did her feet. She is still measuring a solid 16 hands. I swear, she was 16 hands at 2... ha ha! I wonder if she's just done or there will be another growth spurt? Anyways, then I put the surcingle on her and girthed her up and then I put the cavesson with the bit on and we headed to the roundpen. We did some pillar work and then I put the line on the bit and introduced bit pressure. We worked on turning. She was getting the hang of it. So then I attached both lines and attempted to do long lining again. She started okay at the walk but then my friend showed up to drop off the saddle and I got distracted and next thing I knew Funny was cantering and got loose. But because I was smart and we were in the round pen... she just cantered a few circles and gave up. We did a bit more walking but then she trotted again and then tried to canter and I was able to stop her but then she was stressing and the bit was pulling too hard because I'm not good enough at this and then the surcingle slipped and then the reins were really at odd angles... and then it looked like the surcingle was about to flip a full 180 degrees and what on earth would that do to the lines??? So I very calmly did my best to get her to stop and she finally did. I unhooked her and told her she was brave. Good grief baby girl!! Why on earth do I keep trying this!? So we took it off and just went back to reins on the bit and I walked next to her and used "the reins". We practiced turning, which was easy when I was on her inside... a little more confusing when I was on her outside, but she got it! We played a good bit with that, with me switching sides so it was symmetrical. Good girl.

Then I took the long lines off and just attached the one to her nose and we lunged. She was good!! Quite lofty. And she trotted over the poles a few times. Sometimes she went around them but sometimes she sought them out! Good girl!

We quit after the lovely trot work and then I gave her a bath. I used the yummy smell good skin stuff and let her sit for a minute. She doesn't really have anymore rain rot but she's still so itchy! So I was hoping this would help. Then she got fly sprayed. And then I adjusted her. She was due. Nothing major but a few little things. And then she got her fly boots and fly mask put on. :) She was a good brave girl. 

So yeah... that cheered me up a lot! Feeling accomplished goes a long way in my self care book. 


She's getting more shimmery! Which, is really pretty, but I think I'd rather her stay more red than go more white... like Roany!

No comments:

Post a Comment