Tuesday, July 4, 2023

Oh it's ON LITTLE ONE!!!!

 Hee hee.. Funny and I had to have a conversation today. An adult conversation! But it's all good now. 

After 4th of July festivities I decided I really wanted to ride and Mike was home, so... I told him I would text him before I got on and as soon as I got off and wouldn't be more than 20-25 minutes. So I snagged Funny and we got tacked up. I didn't really groom her too much as she was already sweaty. It's so hot! But I thought it might work to my advantage. So we headed up to the arena with her saddled but wearing her bridle because I am going to have to lunge her for a bit before I ride.. .just... because. I also grabbed my vest because I figured I might need it. So we start walking and the other 3 horses are in the roundpen chomping on clover. We walk... she stops. I clucked at her and she walked on. She stops again...I cluck and wave the lead rope and she walks on. She stops again... OH I HATE THIS GAME!!! Why do ALL of my ponies do it too?? (But.. hmmmmm... that's probably worth considering. Maybe I'm too distracted.. maybe they're herd bound... maybe I need to be more cognizant of my aids/mind while walking up???). Anyways... so I go to chase her with the lead rope and she starts backing up and rears. OH no ma'am!! So I get her back down and walk her on. And then she does it again... and again... and again. I think it was maybe a total of 4 separate occasions with a rear each time but the last 2 times were fairly back to back and the final rear was quite spectacular!!! BUT NOPE NOPE NOPE!!! We're NOT doing that Funbuns.. this is not allowed!!! So I backed her ass up, yelling at her, smacked her with the lead rope on the nose and told her "No ma'am". She then stopped... lowered her head, averted her eye, and walked on. Somewhat politely the rest of the way. Girl... when will you stop testing me!! 

So we got in the arena and she tried one more scoot and spin and I growled at her and she stopped. We then had a very polite pillar walk and did pillars 1, 2, and 3. Then we had a little bit of a lunge session. She was wild and took off cantering but at least she didn't buck, rear, or spin and scoot. She just cantered. I managed to keep ahold of her too. I was telling her that she had to use her genious for good, not evil and she needed to behave because if I got hurt... then we couldn't do fun things. So she settled and then we had a polite lovely lunge with her using herself quite nicely. 

So then... I got on! Not without a tiny bit of trepidation, admittedly. But she was good. She got balled up a few times and felt a bit like she wanted to explode but I growled at her and she stopped herself. We spent a good bit of time walking and practicing our turns. MUCH better today!!! Then we did a tiny bit of trotting. She wasn't as forward today and she didn't hold the trot as long but that's okay. She was softer in her neck today too and I think she was probably in better biomechanics. 

So then I got off and fed her cookies and then walked her out of the arena. Again she tried to scoot and take off. NO MA'AM!! What is wrong with you fool?!? Hee hee.. So we walked to the XC jumps and... she had settled again, so I hopped back on.. while carrying her halter! But she was good. She was looking for Dan who had gone to the hayfeeder and then down towards the dogs house but she was good. She tried to scoot once more but I managed to keep her under wraps and we walked all the way to the barn and around the roundpen. Good girl! Kind of. Ha ha..

Man alive she's a tough cookie!!! Dan's a heathen but she is an alpha testing bossy heathen!! But she's also mega smart and fun. I told her that I didn't want to squealsh her personality and fire but that she had to simmer down a hair so I could survive! 

She got a nice rinse and some grazing on the good grass and then I turned her back out. 




















No comments:

Post a Comment