Sunday, June 2, 2024

She understood the assigment!

 Funny had some time off while Danny and I were in Ocala. But, today we took the opportunity to go for a ride! We were hoping to meet Missy and Indi for a pool party this morning but... I wasn't really ready to get up that early and skip Dan's grazing and Missy was at the lake and the weather was a bit overcast and threatening. So we bailed. Mike and I went for breakfast on the bike after I did horse chores. 

So, after breakfast I did some errands and then ate a quick lunch and then I went to get Funny. She was a good girl and we headed up to the arena in hand. I wanted to do my "walk" for the Rider Fitness group so we did a good bit of pillar work. Thank goodness because while she was being great for it, suddenly she was on the other side of the arena! Then I saw the deer in the woods. Oh. It's that blasted side of the arena. Of course she was on edge then and went snorting around the arena, tail up in the air, hover trotting and cantering and blowing. Luckily I had the reins over her head vs just in my hand and she didn't step on herself. Although she did snag them for a split second on the fence. I was then worried she was going to snag my saddle or my stirrups, but we avoided disaster! Phew. I managed to catch her fairly quickly. We did another few laps of pillar walking and walking poles because... she needed to simmer down before I got on her! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I went to get on she was awful at the mounting block. It took multiple circles and attempts and admittedly one whack with the crop (which was not helpful. Doh... I knew better). But finally she stood still close enough and long enough for me to get on. And then she was pretty darn good. She was very forward, but... that's what we had talked about in our lesson. And even while walking her in hand she was chomping on the bit...not sure if it was just nerves, because it was most obvious after the deer incident. She kept doing it during the ride though. I was annoyed.. but tried to not be. Eventually I just got over it and ignored it. We did our trotting and practiced our loops and tear drops. I think I managed 6 loops. Ha ha. In 100'. Ha! We've got to up our game! Then we cantered and... holy cow! It may have been more of a hand gallop, but.. it was fun! Oh, and... we picked up the right lead instead of the left twice... so I just kept cantering and she swapped on her own! Lead change!! Fun. Hee hee. Would be nice to have a horse that sort of naturally does them! She was a bit hollow in the beginning but by the end of the ride she was quite nice and even round and was actually sort of soft in the contact! I focused hard on keeping a very gentle contact on both sides of her mouth and giving when she did. Oh, and we also trotted over the three ground poles and she just skipped through them like a pro. 

 
GOOD GIRL!!! We walked home through the pasture and she was very brave and a good girl. 

 
  
She got a rinse because she was sweaty and she threw her head up in the air and POP!. Um... what was that. She didn't seem fazed, but baby girl broke that light bulb with her head! She had light bulb pieces all in her hair. Girl! Jeesh. Guess I need one of those light bulb cages! 

 



 



No comments:

Post a Comment