Today got away from me so I didn't get to ride Funny until after Patrick came at 3. It was 5:30 when he left and the skies were getting dark and you could hear thunder rumbling. So I figured it was a lost cause. Darnit! But then I checked the radar and it looked like I had until 6:45, so... I made a mad dash for it!

As I was walking out to get her, I sort of wondered if I was jumping the gun. She was still in heat. And while I had adjusted her (and she was really sore, but I got the soreness resolved) and shockwaved her... it had only been two days. And I also didn't want us to get struck by lightning or even me to get dumped because she was rowdy from the storm. So I prayed that God would give me a sign if I needed to back off. But I also really wanted to ride. And.. I wanted to see if I fixed her but also, I just really wanted to ride her. She's freakin' fun!
So we tacked up quick. I just brushed her back off as she was pretty sweaty as it was so humid, even with the storm rolling in. There was a little breeze but not much. I got on at the roundpen and rode her up to the arena. She stopped to flirt with Dan but I got her going. And then I saw a lightning bolt above the arena. Okay... that's probably my sign God. I almost got off... I probably should have but at this point I was on... I figured I'd just trot her around, even if it was only one lap.. just to see. Sigh. I'm sorry God. I'm never gonna learn am I? So we got in the arena and I picked up the trot. The first 6 strides were great! She was forward and happy and even quick and then... she started hopping behind. Sigh. We kept trotting around the short side of the arena and she kept doing it.. throwing in those little jumps behind... half cantering. Ugh... So I got off. I was trying desperately hard not to panic. Give it time Holly... she's young, she's growing, she clearly just had a growth spurt, she's still in heat, it's only been a few days...
I did get back on to ride her home because then I got in my head that it's a behavioral issue because... bute, robaxin, shockwave, adjustment, some acupuncture... But I don't think it is. Not really. I mean, maybe... but to be honest, she's a better bucker than that. And she's proven she's calculated enough to get me off if she wants me off. So I feel like this is more of a "ow ow ow" buck but... I don't know.
I rode back to the round pen and pulled her tack off and let her loose. I should have hosed her but figured nature was about to do it anyways. And sure enough... it started raining pretty hard after.
Sigh... I really hope she's okay and I really hope she heals quick because... I want to ride her and play! Sigh. I was telling someone else (oh Jacel) how I'm like "See God, I'm patient.. I've been waiting.... I've proven that I can be patient... now please give me what I want NOW!". Sigh... yeah, that's not how it works. Or maybe it's that He's not necessarily trying to teach me patience.. maybe it's letting go... letting go of control... Sigh. I don't know. I'll have to dwell on that later.




No comments:
Post a Comment