Well.... She's still not right. Cindy messaged to check in and I mentioned Funny was still funky. She asked about the saddles so I explained where we were at and she mentioned that she didn't think Funny was an XW and suggested I try her in the old saddles just to see. I figured she had a good point. I doubted it was the saddle, but it was worth a try since the shockwave didn't seem to make a difference. So... I groomed her and put the dressage saddle on her since I think it's a bit wider than the jump one. And what the heck... it's so crooked on her! Like... so crooked!
But... It seemed to fit her okay. She had wither clearance although it was maybe a bit tight on the sides. So we walked up to the arena and did a tiny bit of pillars and then I got on. She felt better at the walk and then we trotted. It was... better.. maybe. But she was still doing all the same things, maybe just not quite as bad. Sigh... okay. So... I went back to walk and got her going nicely and then we rode back down to the trailer and I put the thorowgood back on. It seemed like it was sitting a little low but not terribly. I still had wither clearance but definitely not four fingers. So we walked back up to the arena and tried again. And she was worse! Ugh... So then I got off again and pulled her saddle off and (Bravely) got on bareback. And... still trying to hop/canter behind only in the trot. So .... I gave up. I did do a bit of walk work though, just.... so that she didn't learn that fussiness got her out of work. She's velociraptor smart, so... while I didn't want to work her through her pain... I also figured she could at least do a little bit of walk work for me and I wasn't hurting her by doing that or making her hate work.
After her ride, I let them all out in the dog pasture.





No comments:
Post a Comment