Thursday, January 2, 2025

Dressaging Day

 Today was a Mike day! We went to the Cat Cafe in Watkinsville and had breakfast with 18 cats. Hee hee. It was cool. Then we went ice skating for a little bit. It was a small rink and crowded. Then we got some lunch (peppermint shakes at CFA!). And then home so I could ride. Awww, he's the best! I opted to ride Funny at home even though she could use a long hack too. But I knew I wouldn't have enough time to also take Dan out and since he can only walk, it's more fun riding him at Ashland. So I rode her first at home. 

 

I put Lyrics bridle on with Lyrics bit because it's lighter so I thought she might like it better than her current one. And she did, maybe. But not as much as the one I just ordered her. But we still had a good ride. I remembered my polo wrap (sadly not hot pink... boring white) so we did our homework. I did drop it and just ride regularly for a little bit of the ride on and off too. We had lots of good moments and I think we're both getting the hang of it. I'm getting quieter and more still in my aids and better about staying stronger in my core and she's starting to get the concept of connection and even inside leg to outside rein. Yay! We still have all our issues but we also had some really good moments today! She is starting to really get off my inside leg and staying more even in the connection. She was still chompy today but it did seem a little quieter and less "big". We got our left lead canter first try both times we did it! It really helps having that outside rein connection when I use the polo wrap. I tried very hard today to not drop any oysters :) We also worked a little bit on going straight. Which is really hard! And halting straight. And standing still. I'm definitely going to have to do more of that! Oh, and I do think she's really starting to use herself and lift her back and be more through and correct because in our walk breaks she was really reaching down and stretching!!

 

 

I let her jump the XC jump in the pasture when we were done as a reward. She was super and game. So then I thought... lets' do the middle one. Its' not THAT big. Although, it's pretty big for her. And it has a giant weed growing in the middle of it so it's trickier. We trotted up to it and she ended up jumping diagonally right to avoid it so she basically angled the smaller fence. So we tried from the other direction and she ended up jumping the middle one but she got all squirrely over it and twisted and landed left. We did it a few times and never really got it great... so I decided that I would stop pushing the issue... she's jumping a very big fence with a serious "question" and not being that bad about it. So we jumped the little one again beautifully and called it quits. 
Oh, and I rode her in the Tapestry girth. I am not quite sure it worked any better than the other girths so far. Maybe less slipping but honestly, I wasn't slipping either in the fuzzy 22" girth, so... not sure if it's the girth or the improved between the aids riding. I'll keep playing with them. 

 
(Okay, it's hard to see the weed, but it was a bit bushier and she didn't want to get tickled!). 

 
Hopefully Saturday I can take her to Ashland for a nice long hack. And hopefully my bit will come before our lesson on Sunday. But probably not. I ended up ordering a browband too. Well, two of them. Because they are both just so pretty and I coudn't decide. And that meant that instead of placing my order two days ago, Kelli did it tonight. So we shall see how quickly it comes. I would like to try jumping Funny in it too to see what she thinks of it. Before I put her in the pinwheel. 


No comments:

Post a Comment