Today was another beautiful day! I slept in (tried to) because I had a headache all night and was cranky. Still cranky when I woke up but I got the animals fed and then Patrick texted and said he could come put Funny's shoe back on. Yay! After that I ate breakfast, caught up on dishes and did some laundry... then I spread manure and drug the arena and tried to fix the auto waterer. I can't figure out why the stupid nozzle won't go on tight enough to not spray everywhere. Mike suggested plumbers tape so I'll try that. Then.. I decided... it was too pretty of a day to ride... I couldn't do anything with Lyric or Dan yet, so.. I might as well enjoy the day at Ashland with Funny. I can always ride her at home when I'm busier. So I went!
We met Kelli and it was packed! We hacked first. It was a good ride but Funny was annoyed because Marvin was slow. But then she kept snacking too and sometimes he caught up. She was also a bit jumpy today. She was spooking at things that ... shouldn't be spooky. Like... a rock. But she was a good girl. We had a nice ride. No dunks in the lake this time!! My boots are still soaking wet. I had to use my older jump pair.
Then we headed to the arena and did some flat work. I had put on Lyrics dressage saddle again. And... she felt great! She was actually going quite nice in the beginning. Like... I even sat the trot and did some shoulder in down the long side (of the short arena but still) and it felt fairly correct!!! I did it a few times each way and then Kelli watched but by then she was getting tired, so I quit. I don't want to over do it and make her not like it. We cantered and then she got a bit quick and heavier on the forehand again, but we managed to get some really nice work overall. :)
I'm kind of shocked at how quickly she improves sometimes. She can be quite fancy when she's not feral! Kelli was complementing her alot today too! And she mentioned that her topline and muscling looked so correct. I had to smile and be proud of myself for a minute, because... I think so too! And it's frustrating because Dan has so many issues and Lyric does too and came with baggage... but Funny... Funny is my doing! I mean, she has great conformation, etc... but I haven't messed her up yet! Not too badly anyways. I did tell Kelli though it was a bit terrifying because I'm so afraid to mess her up. She did say she was proud of me for quitting with the shoulder fore when I did. She also mentioned that she thought she was coming along quite nicely and could even do a first level test. Ha! Not quite. But it was nice to be complemented. And I am thinking it's not too far off. But it's hard because I don't want to push her too much, but I also need to ask her to step up her game too. It's a fine line and I'm hoping and praying I don't mess her up!So yep... I felt MUCH better after that! And tomorrow I get to lunge the other two if I can get done with work in time. They were all silly and feral this morning when I was fixing the water trough. hee hee. Those two NEED to get back to work!






No comments:
Post a Comment