Wednesday, February 5, 2025

Turbo donkey

 She's stuck in turbo mode! Hee hee. I don't know why it's worse at home. I ended up only doing 5 horses today at the Dabneys and then met Dr. Febles to get Lyrics mouth/teeth checked. I was right... she's fine. Nothing out of the ordinary. She went ahead and floated her since she was here, and she's due in April, but... she was fine. But... now I know. But then it was 3:30 or so.... and I was done! I debated taking Dan or Funny to Ashland but decided that I should probably ride Funny because I have to work tomorrow and may not get to. Plus, she needs to be slightly tired for the Lucinda clinic. And since we're hauling so much, I decided to just ride at home. So I did. 

 

We tacked up and headed up to the arena. She was jumpy still! How are you so confident and cocky and so jumpy and spooky too?? It's a conundrum! We had a decent ride but she just is soooo quick and running. Which knocks her onto her forehand. I tried sitting up, lifting my core, slowing my post, squeezing my thighs, leaning back.... alternating half halts, halt halts, sighing... but she just won't come out of that gear. I had to float her teeth a few times, which I hate to do, but dang girl.... just SLOW YOUR ROLL!! 

We had some nice moments though... more so at the canter. Her trot got nice and lofty some but it was still probably too quick. We did play with lateral work today. I tried haunches in for the first time... and she did it! She nailed it tracking right and was decent tracking left. That slows her tempo too! And then we did shoulder in and she was pretty good at that too. Not really through or on the bit but she was more consistent in her body. So... baby steps! I joked that I would ride her in shoulder in all the time if she didn't slow down but... not sure that would work either or be helpful or doable.

 
We practiced our transitions and our halts. Man... she sucks at halts! She runs into them, then drifts sideways. And then won't stand. So.. we had to practice a good bit. 

So yeah... like usual, an exhausting ride and not as productive as when we're at Ashland... but still a decent ride with good moments. 

No comments:

Post a Comment