Whoo hooo! This morning I had a little bit of time before I had to go see some patients. So, I groomed Fleck and then pulled Funny out and groomed her and then put the saddle on. Yes, I realize I used a dressage pad and a jump saddle, but... whatever. ;) She was fine. She didn't even blink, even when I girthed it up. I didn't have it tight, but it was snug.
I walked her out in the driveway so Mike could get a picture of us. And she got a tiny bit scooty. I'm not sure if it was because she felt the saddle or something else spooked her. I'm leaning towards something else. We basically just took photos and then walked back into the barn and I untacked her. Baby steps :)
So then I thought... why not?! Let's see what she does with a bit and the bridle. She was a good girl and let me put it on. I had the nathe bit on that bridle, and no browband. She was not a fan! She took it alright, but couldn't figure out how to eat the pppermint around it and kept chewing on the bit. Hee hee. "I don't like it Momma.. it's chewy"! I left it on for a few minutes and even led her around. She was great! She responded like she did in the halter, but wouldn't quit chewing. Hee hee. Oh well. We'll try again. Maybe with a different bit? Maybe not... I'm not sure if the rubber is ideal since it's soft or if metal is better since it's less chewy. ???















No comments:
Post a Comment