Wednesday, September 28, 2022

First Dentist Visit

 Super good. Super cute about it.

Super drunk... weebling and wobbling... 

had her right wolf tooth removed... left one wasn't quite confirmed or problematic so we opted to wait and see.

bloody lips.. like a little kid who put on moms bright red lipstick. Then scratched her chest and had a bloody chest




Sunday, September 25, 2022

Lots of sass and excitement today

 Oh funbuns, you crack me up! 

She was a firecracker today! We headed to Ashland with Dan. She was on the trailer before I could get the butt bar down but Dan was already in, so... cheater. ;) We got to Ashland and I took her off first and made Dan stay in the trailer. I groomed her and put her cavesson on and to the arena we went. We practiced walking in pillar 1 and even pillar 2 in hand. She was good! Although she did get a tiny bit distracted by the horses in the jump arena. 

We then did our lunging as she had gotten a little up with the other horses. And she was sassy! She snaked that head and pranced on her tippy toes. She even did a few canter scoots and reared (mildy) once. But then she settled nicely and gave me some lovely lunge work. Still cross eyed! Ha ha.. Seriousy... weird horse! We got some good downwards with my body shift and she was nice both ways!

Then I put her back on the trailer and made her wait while I worked Dan. She was MAD!!! Hee hee. The other riders heard her tantrums. Well.... sorry! It's part of growing up. She did settle eventually. And this time she didn't break a halter OR try to suffocate herself by wrapping the lead around her throat! Good news!

So then we went on a hack. First we had to stop and wait for Marvin to finish his arena work. So I did some trotting to get Dan's trots in. Y'all... what a good baby horse. She trotted with zero pressure on the lead rope... just his little shadow... around the arena, while Marvin worked in our arena and two other horses were having a lesson in the upper arena. And she just beebopped around like it was nothing. 











So then we went for a hack. We went around the lake and then finished at the lake. She and Dan splashed and played and of course she rolled. Repeatedly. Then Dan went for a swim and I swear she got a foot or two buoyant! And she thought twice about going off on her own for a swim but chickened out at the last minute. Soon baby girl! You'll do it!





When they were done, we headed back home. I opted for Raccoon Loop and... oh my! I was videoing expecting a nice pretty little clip. Instead, about 4 seconds later we flushed out about 10 deer. I didn't even see them til it was all over, but the two heathens did. And they both spun and bolted. I'm not sure quite what happened, but... at one point they bounced into each other. Then they spun again... Then they both went the same way, towards the bridge. Somehow, despite the lead rope getting wrapped around me, I managed to keep ahold of the reins, my phone (even after I dropped it and it bounced off Dan's neck and landed back in my hands), my whip, AND funny! AND got them slowed enough that we didn't die over the bridge and then stopped after the bridge. Then we saw the deer. Ohhhhh..... Good gravy! And I was bareback too! (Well, my thinline bareback pad). 



We walked back up to XC after that and within a minute they had both settled. Then we trotted up the backside of the hill to the top of the field and headed in. :) Funny didn't want to load first and I didn't feel like arguing so I let Dan go first. Then she thought about not loading even then. I had to spank her and we tried 3 times but then she self loaded. I guess we'll be working on that more too!

But overall, gold sticker! She lunged so beautifully too I told her she was better than Dan. :) Although I guess I forgot that she had sassed me so much in the beginning. ;) 






Saturday, September 17, 2022

Fun Day and trailering practice

 I decided to take Funny adventuring today. Plus, we haven't been back on a trailer since The Vista. ;) 

 

I grabbed her and Dan and put Dan on the trailer first. She took a minute or two, but went on. Nothing major. We got to Ashland and had a great ride! We saw deer, coyotes, and a fox squirrel. We trotted a bit too. And we even jumped a little log. She started out a little sluggish, which may have been because of her snotty nose and/or the big rocks that seem to be everywhere. When we first started she was on the edge of a cliff like a mountain goat trying to avoid the rocks. It was actually pretty impressive as she managed to keep her foot flat while on a steep hill! 

 
After our ride I tried to put her back on the trailer first. Nope! She was good, but wouldn't get her back feet up. I told her I had all day... then I decided I didn't have all day. ha ha. We tried for about 10 to 15 minutes and then I just put Dan on first and then she loaded. Then I took Dan off and took him to the arena. She was a little fussy but not bad. After I worked him and hosed him off, I put him on the trailer and pulled her off and worked her. She was great! Her cross eyes crack me up when we lunge. But she was good and only a tiny bit sassy. Good girl. We didn't work very long but we did do about 8 minutes each way. 

Then we headed home. It was a good day!








Wednesday, September 14, 2022

Roundpen day

 Today I finished a little bit early and Mike went on a bike ride so... I worked the ponies. 

Funny was a good girl. She took the bit fairly easily even without a cookie! She still can't figure out how to eat a cookie with a bit in her mouth. We did a bit of walking in pillar 1 and then we went on to lunging. I started with her going left as that seems to be her easier way recently. She started off a little twisted in her poll. I think it's her trying to figure out the bit... whether she can spit it out somehow or what! But she settled and we got some really nice work. I even think she's bending in her body better as her hind feet seem to be tracking where they should instead of swinging out. Then we went to the right and she was pretty good that way too! We didn't work long at all because she was good. 




Tuesday, September 13, 2022

Pillar Work Day

 Today was a light day. We just did some pillar work in the arena... just walking in hand. I didn't lunge today because I just didn't feel like it. ;) 

 

She was good though. We did pillar 1, 2 and 3 and walked the arena. She licked and chewed some. And we also walked over the cavaletti's and the liver pool. Then, because I had done it with Lyric, I walked her up to the mounting block and climbed up on it. I was expecting her to not care, but... she was a bit more nervous about it than I expected. Nothing major, but she wouldn't stand still for very long and then when I did try to lean over her, she would move. Huh! I was not expecting that. This is good information to have. Now I know I have a hole to work on before I get on. So we practiced standing still and calm and she did settled and did let me give her a big hug and slightly lean on her. 

 

 

Also, her and Lyric are now buddies! Yay! This makes me super happy. Dan, not so much. Ha ha. I think he preferred when they were fighting over him. Ha ha! 

 






Sunday, September 11, 2022

I'm a ballerina!

 Twirly twirly twirly.....

    



My child, you are very athletic! Although I may have helped you out with the cavesson today. Gracious! Today was a lovely day and after I took Dan for a ride and had lunch, I went to work both girls. They were all up at the hay barn in the shade so I decided to work them in the arena. I did Lyric first and Dan and Funny hung out at the gate. So then it was Funny's turn. She came right in and was ready to play! I put the cavesson on with the bit, but was still attached to her nose, not the bit. We did a bit of static pillar work and then moved on to lunging. She started out tracking right and was pretty good. I think that left is her good way now, so I may have to go back to starting left. We got some good work in, so then we did some straight lines at the walk in pillar 1, making sure she's not engaging her brachiocephalic. We also walked over the cavaletti's. Then we came back to the circle and went to lunge left. She was going nicely and then suddenly, she spun, went up, and twirled, and came down. I made her trot on and we basically were now trotting on the lunge to the right again. Ha ha. Okay... goober! I brought her back to a halt and we went back to the left and she was great. I have no idea what happened to make her go up, other than maybe she got a bit strung out with that shoulder and it was a good excuse. ha!

After we were done I walked her out and she reluctantly left the arena. She likes playing! 



She also got to wear the brand new fly boots. Her legs are GLOWING :) ha ha.