Oh funbuns, you crack me up!
She was a firecracker today! We headed to Ashland with Dan. She was on the trailer before I could get the butt bar down but Dan was already in, so... cheater. ;) We got to Ashland and I took her off first and made Dan stay in the trailer. I groomed her and put her cavesson on and to the arena we went. We practiced walking in pillar 1 and even pillar 2 in hand. She was good! Although she did get a tiny bit distracted by the horses in the jump arena.
We then did our lunging as she had gotten a little up with the other horses. And she was sassy! She snaked that head and pranced on her tippy toes. She even did a few canter scoots and reared (mildy) once. But then she settled nicely and gave me some lovely lunge work. Still cross eyed! Ha ha.. Seriousy... weird horse! We got some good downwards with my body shift and she was nice both ways!
Then I put her back on the trailer and made her wait while I worked Dan. She was MAD!!! Hee hee. The other riders heard her tantrums. Well.... sorry! It's part of growing up. She did settle eventually. And this time she didn't break a halter OR try to suffocate herself by wrapping the lead around her throat! Good news!
So then we went on a hack. First we had to stop and wait for Marvin to finish his arena work. So I did some trotting to get Dan's trots in. Y'all... what a good baby horse. She trotted with zero pressure on the lead rope... just his little shadow... around the arena, while Marvin worked in our arena and two other horses were having a lesson in the upper arena. And she just beebopped around like it was nothing.
So then we went for a hack. We went around the lake and then finished at the lake. She and Dan splashed and played and of course she rolled. Repeatedly. Then Dan went for a swim and I swear she got a foot or two buoyant! And she thought twice about going off on her own for a swim but chickened out at the last minute. Soon baby girl! You'll do it!
When they were done, we headed back home. I opted for Raccoon Loop and... oh my! I was videoing expecting a nice pretty little clip. Instead, about 4 seconds later we flushed out about 10 deer. I didn't even see them til it was all over, but the two heathens did. And they both spun and bolted. I'm not sure quite what happened, but... at one point they bounced into each other. Then they spun again... Then they both went the same way, towards the bridge. Somehow, despite the lead rope getting wrapped around me, I managed to keep ahold of the reins, my phone (even after I dropped it and it bounced off Dan's neck and landed back in my hands), my whip, AND funny! AND got them slowed enough that we didn't die over the bridge and then stopped after the bridge. Then we saw the deer. Ohhhhh..... Good gravy! And I was bareback too! (Well, my thinline bareback pad).
We walked back up to XC after that and within a minute they had both settled. Then we trotted up the backside of the hill to the top of the field and headed in. :) Funny didn't want to load first and I didn't feel like arguing so I let Dan go first. Then she thought about not loading even then. I had to spank her and we tried 3 times but then she self loaded. I guess we'll be working on that more too!
But overall, gold sticker! She lunged so beautifully too I told her she was better than Dan. :) Although I guess I forgot that she had sassed me so much in the beginning. ;)






















No comments:
Post a Comment