Man.. it's been awhile since I got to sit on Midget's back. :) Ha ha... Mike mentioned yesterday that he liked Funny. She stood outside and waited patiently while he fed and was sweet. He even felt bad for her because he feels like she gets left out from the herd. (She kind of does... poor girl!). But then he mentioned she's a midget. Ha ha... I mean... I get it. She is the little one compared to the rest but she's not a small horse by any stretch of the imagination. I did giggle a bit today because as much of a "tank" she is... she's sort of dainty and feminine compared to poor Lyric and even Dan and Fleck.
Anyways... it's been awhile because... acupuncture final studying, acupuncture class and final, then she was lame when I got home with the abscess. It finally busted and Friday she was 90% sound on the lunge but Saturday got away from me. Today sort of did too but I was able to sneak in a ride today. I pulled her in and got her groomed and tacked up. Then we headed to the arena and.... I just got on. I decided not to lunge her first, though I did debate it. But she was great!
She did have one small spook as soon as we hit the first corner in our walk after getting on, but it was short and sweet and done. And she was quick today, like usual, but.... I didn't hang on her mouth and she was more balanced. She's still tougher tracking left, but we got some good balanced work. We trotted some poles and as we trotted one of the jumps that was on the ground (ie.. two poles together) she picked up the left lead canter so we went with it! Good girl! Then we came back around and went around the fence and I was using my inside leg to get her to bend and go towards the outside rein (not into it, because we're not there yet) and she picked up the left lead canter again! She did it two or three times so I kept praising her and let her canter. Technically, I didn't mean to ask, but... she's offering it and that's the hard canter so I'm taking it! We also cantered on the right lead. ;) I didn't ride very long at all because she is getting fuzzy and it was hot today. And I didn't want to make her sore. She basically blew a giant chunk of coronary band on the whole medial corner of her foot, so... plus I had painting to do! (trying to finish painting the house before Christmas!).
Then I walked her down via the driveway because I was contemplating a short hack. But I had forgotten about Jean's inflatables. Well... we'll see. She was fine! She's seen them before but they had gotten blown down a bit so they looked odd. She was nervous but not stupid or too scared. Good pony! Since it was so hot, we just headed back to the trailer and untacked. YAY!!!
I missed riding her.











No comments:
Post a Comment