Tuesday, October 22, 2024

Ooof

 I was not the best horsewoman today. Sigh.... 

 

Funny got her teeth done earlier today. She did great and isn't having any issues. She's got her last molars coming in so I was warned that she'll likely be bloody sometime in the next 4-6 weeks. So, noted... and she'll get those few days off as she's teething. 

But she recovered well and I had time. It's weird because suddenly I feel like I have lots of time.. maybe because I'm not trying to ride all 3 horses every day off, and probably mostly because I'm not cramming and studying acupuncture! But anyways... I rode Dan this morning, then they had their dentals, then I ate a (very late) late lunch, and then... I rode Funny. Because why not!? Except I was getting a migraine. And it was hot. So very hot for late October. So I was probably not in the best head space.

 

I tacked her up and we headed up to the arena. I got on and we walked for a good bit and worked on steering and not being stuck and braced. She was good. Then we picked up the trot and it sort of fell apart. She's definitely bracing more and is very locked tracking right lately. She's leaning hard against my right leg and I'm having to really get after her to get her to unlock her poll and neck base and move around my leg. She's wanting to fall in hard core, or go haunches in. So... we fought a little bit. And she's getting quick and inverting, which is stressing me. So we did lots of small circles, which I hate, but that was the only way I could figure out how to get her to unlock herself. I did try bringing her down to a walk when she got too quick instead of letting her run on or hanging on her mouth. But it was still not ideal. We did a little bit of cantering and she got all her leads, so that was nice. The canter was better than the trot I think. 

We did finish with some pretty decent trot work. I went back to the walk and then picked up the trot again to finish and she was actually pretty good. Although she was going behind the vertical some now too. ugh..  But I could push her forward and she would stretch out. So we found a good place to quit and quit and walked back home. 

Sorry I got frustrated with you baby girl. I know it's not your fault. I'm just frustrated that I can't figure out how to train you properly and feel like I'm failing you and that makes me a worse rider. 

No comments:

Post a Comment