Holy cow!!! Baby horse exceeded my expections!!!!

I told everyone (including myself) that even if today was a disaster, we had already won because yesterday was so epic! And yet... she kept stepping up to the plate!

She hadn't eaten much hay or drank much, so... in retrospect I really should have done gastrogard. And will next time. But at this point, there wasn't much I could do. I did bring my hot pot up to the barn and made her 4 pots of hot water to make her breakfast warm and soupy but she didn't eat it. Ugh. But she looked like she had laid down a little bit and she was not acting painful or colicky. We went for a walk and she ate some grass but was mostly distracted. But she behaved. She was a hair bouncy but nothing terrible at all.

We rode dressage at 10:21, so... after our walk I let her chill in her stall and hopefully eat hay. She was picking at it a little bit. I also bemered her hoping that would help settle her tummy. Once it was time, I got her tacked up and swung a leg over at the barns. We hacked down to the warm up arena and headed in. It wasn't too terribly crowded and she was super. Jacel couldn't be there but it was okay. I did my homework and we did lots of changes of directions, some leg yields (attempts) and some turn on the forehand and haunches. She was really quite good actually. She wasn't too quick and we got some really nice work. It's been as good as it's ever been, and more good than bad. It wasn't better than we've done, but... definitely as good as we've been doing! Especially at a show environment! She wasn't even that quick. We got a nice tempo for most of the ride!!

So then I wasn't sure when it was our turn so I headed over a hair earlier so we just hung out at the in gate. I walked her down along the outside of the fence because they were on a break and wouldn't let us in until the judges got back to their booth. So we headed in and trotted to the third arena and went around. She spooked a tiny bit at the judges booth but then was fine. I think a paper fluttered or something. They rang the bell and in we went. And she was super! It was just intro B, no canter work. A rather boring test. She started out nice but our halt wasn't really square. And then our circle started beautiful but then got flat at the second half. Our walk was decent but she doesn't really reach for the bit in the free walk yet. And then our second trot got a hair quicker. And our second halt was really wiggly, but I also schooled it instead of trying to keep as many points. But I didn't care. I was elated. She stayed in the ring, she did all the things, and she wasn't an inverted tense hot mess! We ended up scoring a 38.3, which I felt was a little harsh but... oh well. That put us in 6th of 6. Doh. But that's okay. It doesn't matter and quite frankly, I know that's not what she's capable of.

So then we hacked back up and I walked her around the show jumping course a bit (from the drive) so that she could see some of it. Then we untacked and I let her chill. And pretty quickly it was time to get ready for stadium! Eeeks! I got her tacked back up and we headed down. I went the short way but cheated and followed another pony so she was brave. We met Jacel in warm up and did our trots and canters. Jacel told me to keep her tempo slower so she rocked back and used herself vs running onto her forehand. She said it made a huge difference in her gait. I know.. I can feel it! Then we jumped a few jumps. She was landing and then whichever way she landed in her balance, she would lean hard that way and drift. So I had to work hard to make her go straight. Then Jacel had me land and halt her. And we did that twice and by the third time she was landing more on her hind end, straighter, and much easier to halt. Yay! Jacel said that I needed to teach her to be accountable and how to use her body and this was a good way to help her balance and be held accountable. And it worked.

So then we headed in to the que. It was good for her to have to "stand". Except we didn't stand. Like her brother, she fidgeted so we walked around, ate a few bites of grass here and there, etc. But she wasn't naughty...she didn't try to get me off or bolt... she didn't try to kick anyone or even make faces at anyone. Although she did try to eat the corn husk decor. :) Ha ha! Finally it was our turn. And right about that time, some awful drilling noise went off. It sounded like a jack hammer. Jacel told me to wait to go closer until that stopped but then they rang the bell, so... we had to go. Funny didn't care. We had a great round. We trotted some, cantered some, and she jumped them all! We didn't have any deer jumps! As we came to last fence in the corner, facing the show office... she came to a screeching halt! And was staring up at the top of the hills, where all the stuff was. The flags, the chairs, the people, the covered patio, the gazebo thing.... She was just overwhelmed. It wasn't the jump itself. It was all the stuff "behind" it. I told her she was okay and urged her on and she picked up the walk.. then the trot, and then trotted the last fence. GOOD GIRL!! They gave us a stop but again.. whatever. I'm so proud of her!
She got to get untacked and chilled again a bit while I helped the others and got some lunch. (I was able to eat!... a little but still). It was finally time to go again and I was running a little late because I was trying to watch Mackenzie's ride. I went to open her stall door and couldn't! She had pawed/kicked the board so hard it popped out at the bottom and was blocking her door from opening. Girl!!! It took me and Courtney wrestling with it to get it popped out so I could open the door. Courtney to the rescue again! She had also given me some replenimash since Funny wasn't drinking and that got her drinking a fair amount. Plus she rescued Danielle who went to dressage in her elevator by giving her a new bit. MVP! So we got tacked up and I got on and we headed back down to warm up. She was a bit cautious and concerned about the ponies popping around warm up but held her ground. I let her look a little bit and then we headed in to the fray. And she was super! She trotted a few jumps and the last one was perfect! I need to kick my feet out in front of me so I don't do the tipple topple on the backside and throw off her balance.
So off we went to the start box. Funny was good but once we had the 30 second count down and I walked her into it, she knew. Like how though?! She acted like a prelim horse, bouncing and waiting for the "have a great ride"! I laughed and thought "oh crud... we're totally going to pass that pony ahead of us". Off we went. I made her trot but we may have cantered before we hit the first fence. And then she cantered on and was so brave. We trotted a few fences just to get our balance and make sure all was well, like the downhill fences. And we had to trot a few times and even did one big canter circle because we were hot on the tail of the girl ahead of us. She trotted through the water bravely and didn't stop to roll! After the jump after the water I was able to pass the girl in front of us and then we pretty much cantered the whole rest of the course (minus the steep downhill on an angle jump). She was so brave and jumped everything nicely, except we got a deer jump to the last fence again. GOOD PONY!!!!!!
After I got her untacked, I helped Grace get on and get ready to warm up. Me and Funny walked them down to the jump warm up. I was hoping to get Funny rinsed off as she got a little sweaty but... it worked out well because it wasn't that warm and she dried off. And she was able to graze while we hung out with Grace. And she even had a good roll, with two flips! And then while we were grazing a trainer asked her breeding and told me she was a nice quality horse! Yay! Also, Jacel had mentioned earlier that "Lyric was going to be the horse to teach me a lot and make me a better rider, but Funny... Funny was going to take me places!". :) :)
Funny was a little fussy back in her stall again but she behaved well enough and didn't break her stall anymore. I ate some food and packed up and helped the others and then we loaded up and headed home. And she loaded right up!

So yep... best baby horse ever! Oh, and we ended up 3rd! We would have been 3rd without the stop too. I'm so excited about our future. It's going to be hard to not move her up to quick. Because, she's gonna be game for it! But she needs to educate herself too. I will need to be careful that we educate her on how to use her body, how to adjust and balance and read the questions. Because she has the athleticism and boldness in place. I don't want to ruin that by overfacing her and scaring (Or hurting) her! But man ....she's gonna be so much fun when we get to the upper levels. Heck, she's fun now!
Way to rise up baby girl! Now lets go home and tell the others how amazing you are! (But don't rub it in Lyrics face too much!)