Who am I kidding though? My heart and soul always feel better after a nice hack. But todays hack in the woods in the cold November rain was extra pleasing! It's been a rough two weeks with Dan and stressing about my friends and their hardships. I'm not sleeping well. Then yesterday I spent all day unloading 200 bales of hay by myelf so I ran out of time to ride. And today, it finally decided to be November weather and we got misting rain all morning until about 2 pm. And then by the time I got Dan shockwaved and the trailer hitched, it was close to 4 pm. Eeeks! I almost didn't go ride because.. it was already getting a bit dark. But I'm so glad I did!
We got there and tacked up and Funny was on edge! We set off and she was jumping at everything! But luckily, she just jumped and then carried on. Bless her! I can totally handle that! I was giggling because I was chatting with her and telling her not to worry as they weren't Appaloose eating deer... or Appaloosa eating squirrels. At one point I think I told her that the only things that eat Appaloosas are T-rexes, but she need not worry because she was friends with Dan, so she was good. I did tell her that maybe the Pterydactyl would try to eat Appaloosas... but that he also was scared of D-rex as they were feuding, but they really were secretly fans of each other because they respected each other. So... that might be why the pterydactyl only screamed at her last time. Ha! I might really need more sleep!.But we had a lovely ride despite her being on edge. She was brave and bold and marched forth quite willingly. We trotted a little bit and it was a big bold forward trot, but she relaxed a little bit and it wasn't a tense trot. She was using her body nicely at the walk the whole time too. We aimed for hills this ride and found most of them. We did jump the log in the field by the lake and she took a big spot but landed politely in a trot. Then on our way home, we ended up on Hoot-n-holla so we ended in the XC field, so I let her take one more log. It was a bit bigger than I thought, but still not that big. She jumped it nicely too! We had fun! We only saw a bunch of deer and some really loud squirrels. Oh, and as we were heading to the XC field, right as she stepped onto the slick bridge, a deer moved and she spun a quarter of a circle. I panicked for a split second because that bridge is slick as snot in the wet and it's an actual bridge over a bit of a ravine. I was terrified she was going to slip and fall off the bridge. She stopped herself and held her ground and then calmly walked on. GOOD GIRL!
I think it rained again a little bit while we were out there but we stayed dry under the leaves. And I only hit about 6 spiderwebs. ;) We made it back in time because it was almost dark by the time we pulled out and dark by the time we got home.




















No comments:
Post a Comment