Friday, November 22, 2024

Best BIG KID Ever!!!

 Ok Funny! We see you :) :) Showing up and showing off!!


I could not be more proud of this girl! She and I had so much fun today. Bless her for being such a good girl. She hauled to Poplar today, which is a long haul for her. Especially since I had to get gas and drop a bit off at Ashland. We got to Poplar and were running behind so I unloaded her, pulled off her clothes, put her in the stall to pee and drink a little (I don't think she did though) and let me go to the bathroom. Then walked her back to the trailer, tacked her up, and we headed to XC school. We went with Victoria and Piper. Jacel rode the e-bike. Funny was good and walked down to XC schooling, though we did have to follow Piper through the maze of chairs and flags by the concession stand and covered sitting area. She was a little wiggly walking down and sort of semi-spooked at the ebike a few times. But we got to warm up and picked up the trot and just... trotted around like she was a seasoned show horse. I lost her shoulder a time or two but was able to get it back easily, which was good. Because I don't need another Lyric. 

Then we walked over to the start box and trotted up to the first fence. She popped over it nonchalantly and so we circled and did the starter one next to it. She also popped over that one like it was no big deal. So we carried on and basically schooled the entire amoeba and starter course! She even jumped the starter bench, which was pretty big and on a slight downhill!! Yeah girl! We did have one stop/run out at one fence because I wasn't paying enough attention and let her. And she stopped at the water and wouldn't go in at first. But it was super windy and the water was rippling at her. Once she went in from the side she was brave and went in the original way after. She went up and down a bank (that wasn't on course but since it was there). And she had fun! We even cantered a fence or two! What a GOOD horse! 

  

Seriously.... she grew up so much today and was acting like .... an adult horse! Not a feral baby horse!

 

So then we decided to hack out with Mackenzie while they schooled. And Funny had SO MUCH FUN! She was like "finally... they've realized I'm greatness and have put me in the presence of other greatness". Hee hee. Plus it was good for her to walk around and graze while we watched Mack ride. And she heard the air vest go off when Mack fell off. She spooked but only a few steps. Then when Mack cantered on and did a few jumps in a row, we cantered along too. A few times though Funny got carried away and we couldn't stop until we caught up. I was giggling because I think had I pointed Funny at the bigger fences, she would have popped on over them! And then we were cantering up a hill behind Jacel going up on the bike and Funny was racing her and then as she passed her, let out a huge buck. Not close enough to be scary at all to Jacel but still, as we passed her. Hee hee. Silly girl! 

Then while Mack was talking to Jacel I walked Funny over the ditch, so Jacel was like... do the ditch and this B element. Um... that's beginner novice!! But... okay. Eeeks! And baby horse trotted that ditch, then picked up the canter and popped right over that fairly substantial (for what we've been jumping) cabin like she had done it already! Um... yes ma'am!! And then we cantered over another starter cabin, because we could. 

 

Oh how much fun we had. I really think Funny had the best day ever too! She was so happy and proud of herself! As she should be. 

 

I gave her a quick bath. But.. it might have been a little too chilly. She was shivering! But not for long because she got her County cooler on and we grazed in the sunshine (and wind). She's been good in her stall too. My only worry is that she hasn't really drank anything. But she got soup for dinner... and hasn't eaten much hay but is acting fine and ate some grass. I'm hoping as the after dinner bed checks go away and it gets quiet, she'll drink and eat. I put two peppermints in her water bucket to help entice her. 

 

I'm just so proud of her and am so excited about her future! I don't know how tomorrow will go. She might be overstimulated... she might dump me.... she might step out of the dressage arena.... or she may be a superstar and act like she was born for the show ring and be amazing. But no matter what happens, I'm so proud of her for today. Hopefully tomorrow will be at least mostly sane and not feral. But I can always scratch. And most importantly, I hope she drinks tonight!

That'll do Funbuns, That'll do!









No comments:

Post a Comment