Tuesday, November 5, 2024

Making progress!

 I almost didn't ride today but I'm glad I did. Funny was a good bunny!

We tacked up at the trailer and then I rode her up to the arena. We went through Jean's driveway though because I had Dan turned out in the little pen between the trailer and the pasture. She was good and she's almost as good as closing the gate as Dan is. She sucks at standing still long enough for me to open it though! ;) 

I did keep my spurs on (from Lyric) and was hoping that they would help me get her to stop leaning on my leg and not get me launched. It was successful!

We had a good ride. She was a bit rowdy but not bad. We started off at the walk and worked on turn on the forehand and turn on the haunches. She's getting it!! Then we did some walking through the poles. They were slightly skewed because Lyric knocked a few and then Funny knocked one around too. 

 

So then we trotted and she was actually really good. She was quick, but the alternating half halts helped and we actually had some nice trot work. She's definitely bendier with spurs. Hopefully I can take them off after a few rides. She did fish tail a time or two but I was able to catch her a bit better. She did canter after the first trot pole, but she came back nicely. Of course then she got a bit quicker so I decided to play with some canter and transitions vs just... trotting until we cantered and then cantering and then being done. It made the trot a bit quicker again but we need to work on that. I did some patterns and turns and tried to get her brain focused and it did help. 

Overall a pretty darn good ride! We were going to at least hack to the lake but as we turned onto Skyline she stopped short and stared. There were 3 dogs running around chasing a squirrel. I think it was the neighbors dogs (I can't remember his name now). BUT... I figured that three dogs equals a pack and if I remembered, two of them were street rats that he adopted and one was a big goofy puppy. So while they were probably not going to be a problem, I figured it was best if I just got off and we walked home and didn't do our hack. I just didn't want them bolting out of the woods suddenly and Funny spinning on the pavement and slipping. 

 

Poor girl was sweating everywhere! She definitely needs a hair cut. I keep putting it off, but I may have to do it this weekend if it doesn't cool off after these few days of rain. 

 

No comments:

Post a Comment