Saturday, March 29, 2025

Saturday night ride

 Today was date day with Mike. We took the Triumph to the mountains. And it was cold and rainy.  But not terribly so. We warmed up by the fire at Two Wheels. And because the weather was sketchy we got home at 4:45. So, I opted to go ride Funny. I really wanted to practice our dressage test and Jean put up like...30 jumps... (Ha, not really but the arena is slap full of jumps) so I can't practice it at home. And tomorrow it's a good chance of storms and rain so I didn't know if the arena would be closed or not, so... I just went tonight. And I'm glad we did. We had fun!

 

We had the whole place to ourselves. We did a quick hack around the little lake to warm up. The pterydactyl took flight twice and scared us twice. But at least he didn't screech at us! Then we went to the XC field and did a little trotting. She was so amped up though it wasn't relaxing and she felt a little explosive so... we just headed to the arena. I did a tiny bit of trotting and then we went in the arena and ran through the test. It was actually really not too bad! I'm thinking that might be my tactic at the show next weekend. No warm up. No chance for her to escalate and amp up! She was still pretty quick as it was. But it was doable. And she had some good moments. So then we rode and it got worse. Doh! We managed to get some good moments and ran through the test another time or two. At least our halts are getting better! 

 

We headed back out to the woods for a cool down hack and she kept picking the longer routes. But that's okay. I was game for it! However, she was jumpy! She spooked at a squirrel. And then when we were by the hay fields with the gallop track there was a deer feeding in the woods that was doing that weird blowing/snorting thing and it freaked Funny out! I managed to get her past it but we had to swing way wide into the hay fields. (Sorry Lucy!!). And then she was so jumpy and threatened to bolt every which way. Then she spooked hard at a tree with a big wide weird stump and almost spun again. I finally got her past it and she finally took a breath in the field behind the lake. We were able to get across the damn, although a bird flew by and she almost spun again. We managed to make it back home without any more spooks. We did a little bit more trotting and cantering. Her canter is much quieter. 

 
Good pony!! 


 









Thursday, March 27, 2025

Jump Bit for flatting

 Rode at home... rode in jump bit without hooking the reins. hacked out nicely to the arena but chompy once in the arena. And this bit is noisy when she chomps! Drove me bonkers. BUT... much more uphill balanced feeling and slower tempo. No curling... but perhaps a bit above the bit. But got some really nice soft lovely trots on a very loose connection. 

too many jumps in the ring to practice the test.. could barely even do a 20 meter circle, but... had a good ride. hacked home in the pasture and did a tiny trot out there too. pretty good pony!

not sure what the magic solution will be but perhaps riding in this for now will help with her balance and tempo. may try the baucher... or kellis' metal mullen mouth with a slight port... 










Tuesday, March 25, 2025

Best Girl Ever

 Thank you God for blessing me with this amazing girl!



Had a jump lesson. Hacked out very briefly.. 10 minutes. Rode in Lyrics jump bit but took off the "hooks". Still a bit quick in the field but didn't get time to settle. 

got to arena for lesson with Laura and Julia. Trotted so nicely... did our square turns. Quite lovely!

then started with wide low oxer. brave girl. Trotted it. then added the gate... then another BIG OXER!! Eeeks. Like.. novice big! And then eventually a whole course of big kid fences. And funny just manned up and popped over them all like it was nothing. In fact, she was better than the big kids some rounds. ha ha! Came to the big oxer in the two stride and I could feel her realize she needed more power, rock back, and just ping over it! With ease! SO MUCH FUN! And she was so easy to ride today. Not giving me the finger, not bolting off.. just happy and doing her job like a pro!

So proud of her. Jacel and Laura both said she was really starting to develop her canter.. 

then went for a short hack... good girl. i think we both like this bit. not chompy today in the arena. though likely more has to do with the jumping than the bit. was chompy on the trails but annoyed because she was in the back cause she tried to kick at Player. and annoyed she couldn't eat grass very well. But... smart because she was chomping and chomping and couldn't get it around the bit... so she went to spit the grass wad out of her mouth but then caught it and ate it. 




good pony!

Good God. Thanks for the pick me up!

















Saturday, March 22, 2025

Field Dressage

 New Tactic: Long hack before we dressage. then dressage in field.  Works her core, and she has to think, and balance. Seemed to work.. in the beginning. 

just too depressed and sad to bother dressaging. Seems like neither of us are having fun. 

field ride was better... she started soft and slower and more balanced but then escalated. She's still very hollow tracking left. Falling in on my left leg, dumping on left shoulder, stuck in poll and twisting, will not bend around my inside leg and wants to go around counter bent. 

Did manage to get a few good strides. Will try to get her adjusted tomorrow to see if that helps.