Today I opted to ride everyone at home. Sometimes it's easier to not have to haul and I was definitely tight on time today. Though it does make me sad to miss out on Ashland. Oh well. Hopefully tomorrow Fun and I can have a big long hack.
The flies are out today! Good gravy they were brutal. Funny was not a happy camper. Time to refill the fly sprays! We hacked up to the arena and she was motoring. Of course. We started out with a decent trot but she was still fairly quick. We incorporated our square turns and focused on bend not flinging. And it wasn't too bad. We got some decent work. Then we cantered and our right lead canter was LOVELY! The left lead was a lot more quick. Then we struggled in the trot again. But we got some good moments. Especially tracking left. We cantered and did some transitions and finished with a very lovely soft trot. I think that my plan of almost transitions every time she gets quick (even if it means we almost transition every 6 strides for the entire ride) are the way to go at the moment. It keeps her from ramping up... teaches a half halt... and encourages more time spent in the correct balance. But man it's a lot of work and not a lot of fun for either of us. I also played with full transitions too.
We headed back home after we finished with the nice trot and a nice centerline with a steady square halt that was actually a halt and not a dance. Yay! It was so hot and muggy she got a good rinse and then I did the vinegar rinse to help with the flies. I've already started her back on zyrtec and she's been on the smartpak fly stuff and the E03 oil. Ugh.. hopefully this season will be better!













No comments:
Post a Comment