So... today was a day! The weather was as moody as me! Jeesh!
We had the saddle fitter come today. To check our disaster dressage saddle after they supposedly fixed it. And while she was checking that, I had her check Funny's. She said that the disaster dressage saddle should fit Lyric now that she flocked it to her and fluffed it, but that it was a hair too narrow for Funny. She said it might fit her if she sprouted more withers/got stronger and lifted her sling more, but... at the moment, it's a hair too narrow. She did compliment her thoracic sling though, which was nice. In fact, she complimented all of my horses slings. That was really nice to hear, especially after someone I respect basically told me that the reason Funny was quick and running was because she needed to do thoracic sling work. Ugh. I'm trying people, I'm trying. So it was nice to hear that it was showing. In fact, she mentioned that Lyric was one of the best muscled thoroughbreds she's seen. And honestly, I think Lyric looks like crap right now.
Anyways... we ended up putting the MW gullet bar in Funny's saddle as she agreed it was a hair too wide for her currently and then she wanted me to ride in it. They were all a bit wild because Marvin had come over and Funny is in raging heat. To the point that she was literally body chucking her hips into Dan trying to flirt with him and then flirting with Marvin through the bars and then squealing and kicking the wall. Good gravy... if this is just transitional heat.. we'll cope, but if she does this next month too... back on regumate!
But we headed up there and luckily the others followed. We beat Kelli up there, which was good because shortly after we got in the arena a deer was in the woods and Funny spun and squirted off. But then... despite the wind and weather crazies, she was super. I put her back in Lyrics anatomic figure 8 bridle but with her fager baby fulmer bit. She wasn't very chompy in the beginning although maybe she was distracted by Marvin and the saddle fitter in the arena. But she was fairly steady and carrying herself back on her hind end. She was more "collected" feeling and was receptive to my half halts. Like... they actually happened! Whoo hoo! We had a fairly quick ride because there was more to do but I did manage to get to do a fair amount because she was also evaluating Kelli. We had some nice trot work and I pushed my luck with a canter. Ha! Not the best choice. Her canter was quick and squirrely and then the trot was chaotic and fishtaily again. However, I did manage to get her back to a nice decent trot for a tiny bit and a nice halt without wiggles so I rewarded her and we called it quits. Plus it was time to head back in and get Lyric, so... but it was nice to at least get in a little ride. Unfortunately with all the ponies and saddles and Marvin and then eating a sandwich and chatting with Kelli, there wasn't time to do anything else. Plus I was upset because Lyric was super lame... and then I got a migraine.
Good girl! Hopefully I can sneak in a ride tomorrow, but if not... this weekend I guess. Maybe boot camp is paying off!








No comments:
Post a Comment