Saturday, October 2, 2021

Frustrations for all!

 But still very grateful to God for his goodness. 

Today was just an annoying day, other than the obvious good stuf.. FUNNY CAME HOME!! They called at 9ish this morning to say that she was doing well and could go home. I asked what time they wanted me to come and she said 2 pm. Okay.... that works. So I cleaned stalls, filled waters, and basically got her all set up. Then I ran to tractor supply to buy her a stuffed animal to keep her company and a salt block. They didn't have any salt blocks, (himalayan) so I figured I'd stop at Bar G and get one. 

 

Dan and I loaded up and headed to Ashland for a short easy ride. We did about an hour walk with some trotting and a teeny bit of canter. Then he got a rinse and I tried to get him to pee! He wouldn't. So I left a little later than I meant to. And of course, I also needed gas. We passed the racetrak so I tried to stop there. I pulled in and of the 16 open pumps, of course, of COURSE, there was somebody parked at the outside one. The one that's way easier to get the rig in and out of. And of course, he wasn't getting diesel, but at least the race trak has diesel at every pump. I should have just gone around but it looked like the other outside pump was full too. He was just chatting so I asked if he was getting gas and he said yes and he was going inside to pay. So he walked in... came out with drinks and then pumped gas. Then put gas in his gas can. Then FINALLY left. That was about 15 min of me waiting. So then I try to run my card and apparently it's not reading cards. Son of a bum.... So fine.. I drove around to the other outside pump... which I should have just done from the get go... and that card reader didn't work either. As I was walking in to pay, some guy yelled "they're only taking cash". UGH. Who has that much cash? So now I'm super annoyed. So anyways, I get in the car and then miss my exit for the 10 loop. Dammit man... I finally get back on the 10 loop and go to get off the exit to the vet school and there's a cop blocking it. Because of the UGA football game. So I sat there for a minute... finally got out and asked the cop if I could sneak past and she said no. Fine.... GRRR.. So then I went to the next exit and had to back track Surprisingly I was only 20 minutes late. So finally they were able to come open the gate and let me in. At this point I had to pee so bad and figured Dan did too. Well, next thing I know, she has Funny and a bag of bandage material. Okay.... The tech tells me that Funny is a loud mouth and very chatty. Hee hee. She took a minute to load but once I grabbed her a carrot, she was all in. The tech told me that they would call me Monday for my money and they would email me discharge instructions. Okay.... fine, but, like.... does she need bute tonight? Is she on antibiotics? I'm assuming strict stall rest but can I graze her? When does she get her bandage changed? I'm kinda annoyed at this. I mean... I sort of had a clue, but... it did not set well with my OCD type self. But she said she would text the Dr and have them email me today. 

 

Dan was being rude and kept trying to chew on Funny. And I only had one hay net so I gave it to Funny, which was a mistake as he kept trying to chew on her or get to the hay. So I stopped at another gas station, which had no diesel, but... at least I was able to move the hay net over to him so she could ride in peace. I also gave her another carrot bite. Then we stopped at another gas station.... which had diesel but on a side pump, so we had to drive around the parking lot... over HUGE potholes. Sorry baby! And of course, then I was facing the wrong way as the pump on that side was out of order. I just gave up and went back on the road. And then my "you need fuel" light came on. I had 55 miles of fuel left and it was 44 miles to home. Yeah... that's cutting it awfully close in a diesel and with two horses on board! So we stopped at the Raceway in madison and luck finally seemed to hit as they had diesel, it was affordable, and as I pulled in, the car parked in my spot had it's owners walking to it. So they got it out of the way quickly and then the card reader even worked so yay!! I got gas. But then, ha ha!, when I went to leave... someone was putting air in their tires so I had to wait for them to move so I could make the turn to get out. Good gravy! But finally.. back on the interstate and almost home! Phew!

I got Dan off and then went to get Funny off. She backed off beautifully until she was almost off the ramp and Dan lunged at her. She spun and leapt. Danny... NO!!! That's not good for her surgery sites. Sigh. I beat him and of course that made her jump too. Ugh. I got him turned out and let her munch on a few bites of grass and then got her in her stall. I put Dan in his stall next to her and he kept trying to bite her through the window. What is wrong you Dan, you like her?!?! She was a little worried but was eating some hay and drank. I hung her stuffed moose for her and then let her be. On my way home I had talked to Beth and she said that I needed something other than straight alfafa if she wasn't going to get grass and since the feed store closed at 3 and I passed them at 3:08...  I unhitched and went to Verners to get Timothy. Luckily there was 2 3 string bales left... Apparently they've been trying to get 2 string for 2 months. Hmmm... Well, good thing I got some. It's pretty. It cost me $100 though! I hope she likes it. 

She was still chilling when I got home, so I unloaded the hay and did some work in the tool shed and hung out with Mike for a bit.  That way I could hear if anything was going arwy and kept peeking on her. Then I went to feed and found the moose beheaded!! Seriously Dan?! Like...2 hours. And he was still being rude to Funny. He was sort of acting sweet but then lunging at her. Ugh. Anyways... I got them fed but of course Funny wouldn't eat. I'm not sure if it was the lack of Ultium or the addition of the bute, or maybe the lack of vermont blend. Or maybe it was just stress. But ugh... She did eat the timothy though. Or was chewing on it a bit. I flipped Dan out and put Fleck in Dan's stall so that Dan wouldn't be able to terrorize her all night. I went to snuggle with her and that's all she wanted to do. She just wanted to be rubbed and scratched and hugged. So we did that. Hopefully she'll sleep well tonight and be more settled tomorrow. I suppose it's kind of good that it's supposed to rain a TON the next few days. Because maybe they'll all be glad to sit in their stalls and chill. I plan to leave Dan in during the day with her and leave Fleck in with her at night. Which, may not be the best plan as Fleck usually stays in during the day for the fans, but... I figured the day shift was shorter, which was easier for Dan. Although poor Flecky might get stiff. And at night... I'm not going to sleep at all if it's Dan in. So we'll see. Hopefully I'll get my discharge instructions soon and she won't have to be in strict stall rest for more than 2 weeks. 

Poor baby girl. I hope she isn't too sore tomorrow from lack of bute and bouncing. Everytime Dan or Fleck jumped, she would jump and bounce. Ugh. Did I mention I HATE stall rest!!? 


No comments:

Post a Comment