Friday, October 15, 2021

Setbacks

 Ugh.... So, after her shenanigans yesterday.... She was fine all day... but this morning... Funny was lame. That right hind was pretty sore. And super puffy. Ugh... She was toe touching and didn't seem to want to bend the stifle. I took her out to graze and she was reluctant to walk at all. And wasn't even real interested in grazing. Ack! But she did eat breakfast and was munchin on her hay. I called UGA and Dr. Eggleston called me back pretty quickly. He told me to put her back on bute and see how she was tomorrow. He said it was too late to be a septic joint so maybe she just inflamed things during her antics. So I gave her 2 grams that morning. Then I left her to go to my lesson. I came home and she was about the same. Sigh... But much perkier and willing to eat at least. But then she started pawing and started to roll. I managed to move her into the pasture because at that point, we were in the lane and I didn't want her to roll into the fence. She went down to her knees and then got up.. then pawed a bit more and then went down. I couldn't tell if she was colicking or just glad to be outside and wanting to roll and itch. She rolled and really dug into the ground, like she was itchy. And then she got up. And when she got up, she realized it was a bad idea and was 3 legged. Like... holding the leg up in the air for a minute 3 legged. CRAP!!! And then she pawed some more. So then I panicked because I didn't know if she was colicky AND lame... or just mad that she was hurting.... or what. And then I decided that I wasn't going to go to dinner with my friends because... I was running out of time and I didn't want to leave her in case she was colicky. But luckily she wasn't. She was just mad that she hurt. 

  

So then Wednesday morning, she was worse. More lame and more swollen. She was standing on it some and walking on it, but seemed reluctant to go back and forth between up and down. I texted Dr. Eggleston and he suggested bringing her in. He said it could wait til Thursday so I didn't have to rearrange patients. So then when I got home late Wednesday, and realized that she was even worse, I felt terrible. I should have just taken her in... I was all paranoid that it was in fact a septic joint and she was currently rotting what little chance of an athletic career was left in that stifle away. And then I noticed she was actually dripping pus from the incision, so yeah... really feeling guitly now. I cold hosed it and she was unhappy but let me do it. And then... if that wasn't enough. Dan managed to poke himself in the eye with his haynet and was pouring tears and squinting. sigh... 

So finally... Thursday morning arrived and I was able to get her fed and her stall cleaned. I called Dr. Eggleston to see if I could bring Dan too. And I could, so I loaded him and then went and got her. Poor baby. She was NOT a happy camper and it took awhile to get her to the trailer and then a lot longer than I thought to get her on the trailer. But we finally got her on, with the help of a carrot, and off we went. I tried to haul very slowly and steadily for her sake. 

We got to UGA and they took Dan first and then Funny. They went to different wings so they were both calling. But luckily both got sedated pretty quickly and were looked at so I just sat and waited. But at least I was feeling better about life because at least they were being taken care of. Dr. Eggleston came back and said that it was good news...  she did have an abscess associated with the portal tract but it was focal and not associated with the joint. Phew! So they opened it up a bit and drained it and flushed it. He said to put her on SMZ's for a week, continue the bute for 2 more days, and keep it flushed for a few days and she should be good. He even said I didn't need to alter her rehab protocol. And sure enough she was walking much better already. 

  

They finished with Dan, and he had a small ulcer. So I got him loaded up and then... Funny wouldn't get back on. She was just saying No... and then trying to nap. No baby girl..we gotta go home. I didn't want to fight her. I didn't want to pull her on. And I was out of carrots. She was not interested in a peppermint or the licorice treats. So I was just going to wait her out. I was being super patient and not fighting her. And then some cowboy pulled up to get his horse I guess. He offered to help. I tried to politely decline but he kept helping. He tried bribing her with an apple. I told him she didn't like apples.. but if he had a carrot. He insisted she would like an apple and basically put it in her mouth. She spit it back out. So then he tried to tell me about pressure and release. Dude... I know. I know.... but at this moment, I know my horse. I know she'll just fight and I don't want to pull on her head and neck. I'd rather just pick my battle and let her decide to come on. We can do "training" later when she isn't half drunk with a super sore stifle. But he was making my anxious by hovering and trying to chase her on. He finally picked up the pitchfork and swung it around a bit and she finally got on. Not how I would have done it, but... definitely not as bad as it could have gone, so... thank you. I mean, I'm glad we got her on and I'm grateful he offered to help, but...

Anyways... so we got home and she was already walking better. She had some serious nasty discharge coming out though and her foot was spattered in blood so I rinsed her off again. Also, she was feeling good enough to splash in the water trough, so she flung water all over herself so I figured it was smart to hose her off and make sure there wasn't any funky water funk in that wound!  Luckily she eats her antibiotics like candy in her grain. 

 
Then this morning, she was SOOOOOO much better!! She started off a little stiff after being still all night, but within 30 seconds she was walking soundly and even a little sassy. I sent Dr. Eggleston an udpate and thank you text! Still a good bit of discharge too. Then tonight she had very little discharge and was not real thrilled about me flushing it. I didn't get much discharge even with that, so... hopefully she hasn't sealed it back off again. Her incision is still good and open but... there's a lot of inflammation in those tissues. So I'll keep an eye on it. Tonights walk was after dark and she didn't even spook at the dragon! Though she did spook at something in the woods. A squirrel or a cat I guess. She was good though. Just a little jump. No major shenanigans. Ahhhhhhh....  Hopefully it'll be all smooth sailing from here.


 



No comments:

Post a Comment