Sadness... Funny is not feeling better at all :( Sigh....
I was so excited to take her to Ashland today. I figured I would do a little bit of arena work to feel her out and if I'm being honest, I really want to try the left lead canter again still. And then I planned to do a long hack. Mike wanted me to go early and it was supposed to rain in the afternoon. (Spoiler alert... the rain didn't come until 9 pm). Of course that meant that I couldn't ride with Kelli... but I called Sharon and she came to meet me, so yay.
Funny loaded right up and was ready to go play. There were a lot of people there when we got there and she was a little fussy at the trailer but not terrible. I got her tacked up and we did a little bit of pillar walking in hand in the arena because it was busy and she was a little bouncy. I got on and she was very bouncy!!! We spent a good 15 minutes walking because she was on edge. It didn't help that a car drove up to the jump arena, and then Laura and Julia went up there. And then some others came in from XC. All things she's going to have to deal with, and she did. But it made my life a little bit scarier for a bit. I finally got brave enough to trot and in the beginning I thought she was okay. She was quick and squirrely but it felt like her usual stuff. We tried to work through it but then pretty quickly she got all humpy and kept trying to canter but wouldn't actually canter. Sigh.. the same stuff as she did on Thursday. I tried to get a nice forward trot but she kept sucking back and then crow hopping or hopping behind. I tried to canter her but she would pick it up and then buck. And it didn't feel like she was bucking to try to launch me.. more like she was bucking because she was stuck. Sigh. I kept waiting for Sharon to show up too thinking maybe she could help me figure out if it was baby antics or pain. Because she still felt sound... or symmetric.
So then I gave up and walked back to the trailer. I tried to adjust her pelvis to make sure that wasn't the issue. She was a little stuck but... nothing crazy. Sharon had arrived by then so she said she would come see, so she tacked up and we headed to the arena. Funny was balking and trying to not go to the arena, which... isn't really usual for her. Although not something I've tested a lot either. Once I got on, with Baylors compnay, for the first minute Funny felt better and I was hopeful that maybe it was just silly baby horse antics, but then... she got all fussy again. She started hopping and skipping and sucking behind my leg. Then she kept trying to leave the arena and throwing her shoulder out. Sharon watched and said she thought she some some asymmetry and maybe she was short on the left hind, but mostly in transitions. And she was right... she definitely felt worse in the transitions, even the downwards.
So... sigh. I wanted to cry. We ended up hacking to the lake and back. Because... Funny hasn't been to Ashland since before Ireland and I had promised and I figured as long as she was happy on the trails, a nice walk shouldn't be too big of a deal. But we kept it short and just went to the lake and back. She did feel slightly sticky in the left hind pelvis some but not blatant. And she was happy as a clam on the trails.. munching and just chilling. We got to the lake and of course she had to lay down a few times. It was a little easier to stay on than usual with the saddle. But man, my boots were soaked!
Then Judy and Sarah showed up and joined us and Funny got really marish. I don't know if she was worried that they had gotten close to her because she was sore... if she was protecting Baylor, or... she just is like Dan and it's HER POOL! But at that point I opted to head back and not create a scene. So we hacked back to the trailers. She didn't feel any worse after her laying down and getting back up with me on her repeatedly so phew!
So... yeah. Fun day but sadness because.... I'm really having fun with her. So, I guess I'll call Dr. Barrow tomorrow and see how quickly she can see her. Sigh... Might have her check Lyric too just in case, although quite frankly I'm a little scared I'm going to be horseless again for a bit. Sigh....












No comments:
Post a Comment