Sunday, July 21, 2024

Progress!!

 I swear Funny is freakin' smart! The girl picks up on things so quickly! 

Today was mega humid. Not as hot but it felt as bad because of the humidity. We also got rained on, which helped a tiny bit. 

 

Funny was a bit silly today because there were monsters in the woods today apparently. :) I never saw anything but... maybe. ;) She was good though considering. Only a few scoots. We had a GREAT ride! She was so good. I was able to be softer in my connection and she kept a pretty even rein connection with even weight in both reins. And I wasn't water skiing! We did a few trot to walk to trot transitions and one or two "meaningful" half halts. But she was slower and I was able to influence her with my seat aids nicely today. (Ie... meaning I remembered to ride with my seat and weight aids instead of just my hand). We had a few canter lead issues but got it all but twice. And some nice canters! 

  
Today we mostly worked on keeping her balanced by riding inside leg to outside rein. She fishtailed a few times and sometimes I had to circle her fairly tightly, but I tried hard to avoid pulling on her face and she spent a good bit of the ride balanced and nice. And of course once she was balanced, she would soften in her neck and poll and start to lift her back a little. Yay! We did play with leg yields again a tiny bit too and she was great!

We hacked down the driveway to home but it was so humid we didn't hit the trails. I did apologize to her about not being able to go to Ashland. I know I had promised her but I wasn't expecting my truck to fritz out. Sigh. Hopefully I can take her Thursday as Tuesday she will have a lesson at home. :)  

No comments:

Post a Comment