Thursday, September 19, 2024

So easy and so tough

 Fun buns and I had a good day! 

I rode Lyric first and then it was Funny's turn. I put on her new bridle because I was hoping to show in it Saturday and tomorrow is a busy day. It fits good but her forelock gets stuck in the crystals. Ha ha!

 

We hacked up to the arena and she was a good girl. We had a decent ride. She's a little stiffer to the right today and we had to do a lot of circles to get her to let go. But we made progress. We also struggled with the left lead some but also got it more than we didn't. And especially towards the end. We played a little bit with the poles too. I tried to ride with a slightly shorter rein today and keep a better feel of her mouth. Not a heavy contact at all.. but contact. She wasn't thrilled but she wasn't terrible either. And I didn't hang either so yay for that! I still tried very much to ride off my seat and legs. We also played a little bit with walk and trot leg yields and she kind of gets it! 

 

Then we went home via the pasture and I thought... maybe let's jump the baby jump. Then I realized it was fairly big, so I thought I'd walk up to it and let her see it. She marched right up to it and before I even knew what was happening she had marched right over it. Okay then! ;) So we turned around and trotted to it and she took a big ol' flying leap over it! And we landed in a big bold canter but she didn't buck or take off! Ohhhhhh, baby girl LOVES eventing!!! 

  

So then we walked home and she got a bath. She was so sweaty because they all popped the start of their winter coats but then it got hot and humid again. Not terrible, but... enough. Plus I was giggling because her tail is orange. And like.. it's supposed to be but the white streak was tie dyed orange from the red clay too. I'm not sure she'll stay clean until Saturday but I figured it was worth a shot. And worst case scenario.. it'll be hard to tell if she's dirty. ;) Oh, she also got her mane trimmed as it had gotten a bit long again. 

 
And later, I rode Dan at Ashland and the XC course was set. So I was lazy and hacked him around to figure out the flow because Caroline tends to make zig zaggy courses and it's a lot of walking! Especially when the baby horse is tied to the trailer or in the trailer in a busy horse show environment. So we found the course and it looks fun. But honestly... she probably could have fun starter! It's crazy how the amoeba and starter jumps look small for her, but.. they didn't for Lyric. The green baby cabin/bench thing was flagged starter. Well poo... But it's okay. No sense in overwhelming or rushing her. We'll have fun. Besides, it's the dressage that's going to be the scariest part! Although I'm guessing starter probably rides Intro C too. Oh well. Baby steps. We'll hopefully have a blast on Saturday!

 

No comments:

Post a Comment