I rode Fufu at home today. And I think she's just over it. To be fair, it has been a lot of dressage. And that's not fun for her because she has to go underpaced. But, we did it again today. And she was not having it. She was much more naughty in her tantrums today. And much quicker in her tempo when she wasn't being naughty. I tried to still keep the rules the same and insist she stay slow. And she tried to be good some of the time. We trotted the raised trot poles some. We did turn on the forehand and turn on the haunches. We tried to leg yield. It's hard with all the jumps in the arena, but she's pretty good at it when we can.
So then I felt bad for her and set up some jumps. I let her jump the red solid vertical on the short side and she was fine for that. So then I got off and set up a triple bar and a square oxer. I put the oxer at 2'6" and tried to keep the triple bar the same. So we went back to trotting and she had to behave... then once she was good, I let her canter and we cantered the oxer. She was awesome. So then we went back to trotting and I made her go slow again... then I rewarded her with another jump. We went to the triple bar and she took a flyer to it and sort of came down on it, but it stayed up. So we circled and tried again. We struggled to get the right take off spot, but she jumped it every time and left it up! Good baby girl! We went back and forth between trotting nicely and a few jumps and called it quits after finishing with a nice trot and halt.
Then we walked back home via the driveway and she wanted to explore Art's yard a tiny bit. Silly girl!
Guess we'll either have to hit the trails only or do some trails before we dressage Saturday or Sunday! Dressage is hard.











No comments:
Post a Comment