Saturday, April 26, 2025

One day since our last shenanigans!

 I fixed her!! I fixed her!!! Well, hopefully. :) 

Either... she had ulcers and/or a big ol' angry ovary. :) 

 

I didn't ride Thursday because of the weather coming in so... she had another few days off. But, today I had time. I was going to ride her at home and take Lyric on a trail ride with Baylor, but.. I decided that since Lyric was going to Ashland tomorrow for a lesson, it would be wiser to take Funny today. So... that's what I did. We were going to meet at Charlie Elliott but poor Sharon got there before me and it was closed. Ugh. So... we rerouted to Ashland. They were having the show but we figured we could hit the trails. 

 

We hacked around and had a good ride. It poured buckets last night so it was really wet! Lots more puddles and "creeks" than normal. Funny was brave and went over everything with only a tiny bit of hesitation at a few. At the very beginning of our ride she was a bit jumpy acting but she settled nicely and there weren't any shenanigans. We tried to trot later on in the ride but it was so wet everywhere. We finally did trot at the ridgeline after Hoot and Holler. I was a little worried they would still be running cross country and I didn't want to pop out of the woods and scare anyone so we went along the road in the forest and came out by stadium. By the time we got up there, they had finished show jumping (and honestly, probably cross country too). So... we went in to do a little trotting. I wanted to test her out. And Sharon wanted to trot too. 

 

And she was great! She spooked at the jump poles in a pile on the one side but other than that, she was good. A little quick but not too bad. And no shenanigans. I even tempted fate by picking up the canter and ... no shenanigans! Then we trotted and then cantered the other way and then trotted again. And she was lovely! Whooo hoo! I quit with that. I was tempted to do more but we had already hacked a good bit and it was hot and I was still wanting to get back and ride Lyric. So we headed in. 

 
YAY! Good girl!! Guess we'll continue the omeprazole for a good bit. Of course it could have been an angry ovary, but... considering she started eating her food better, I'm guessing maybe more ulcers... which... sad, but also yay.. better than lameness. 

 



No comments:

Post a Comment