I opted to ride at home today since I wanted to rehash our boundaries lesson stuff. Plus, she hauled Tuesday... and will be hauling Sat and Sun... So we headed up to the arena in hand. Jean's interns were just finishing their lesson with Mark, so yay that I timed that well. I set up the raised 3' trot poles again and then hopped on.
We warmed up at the walk and did our square turns and some turn on the forehand and haunches. She's much quicker and reactive than Dan but not as correct. She sort of spins vs stepping, but.. I figure that will get better as she gets stronger and more connected to the aids. At least now she's got the idea.
We picked up the trot and she was actually quite lovely! Still chompy but lovely. Good girl!!! I was so tempted to just quit and get off, and maybe I should have, but... we cantered. And the canters were lovely but then the trot started to get quick again. So we went back to our boundaries and kept it slow and underpaced and short. And she was good but she got mad again. And this time she was a bit more violent with it. There was a lot of popping up, flinging her head up and throwing the hind end up. A few sideways slings... and lots of cantering almost in place instead of trotting. But I just ignored it all and kept posting (trying to anyways) and gave her the reins when I could. And it got better. And then it was awful again, and then it got better. But overall, it was better when she wasn't having a tantrum. So yay for that!
We hacked home via the field and she got a good rinse and some apple cider vinegar to help with the bugs. And then turned back out. She was sweet because later I injected Dan and she was nickering for him. I think she's finally coming out of heat, thank goodness. I'll start the regumate on Monday! She also got new shoes this morning and she was making us laugh. She was being wiggly but she was also making us laugh. She bent herself around, clearly indicating she wanted someone to scratch her crotch/belly and looked at Russel like "Um... peasant... commence scratching!". He said "we don't have time for pony yoga right now". hee hee..












No comments:
Post a Comment