Well darn.... still an unhappy pony. But also, still a good day!
I took Funny to Ashland today to ride with Kelli. I mentioned that I would LOVE to do a short hack first, then an arena ride, and then another hack instead of doing the arena first and then hacking. Although honestly, I would have been fine with just hacking too, but I did kind of want to see how Funny was feeling after her stifle injections. And luckily, Kelli was game to do it.
(Hack.. .and snack!)
So we tacked up (in the dressage saddle.. the panamera) and headed out on the trails. She was a bit lazier than usual and super chill. I also have taken her off regumate and she's in heat but she's in the cuddly, snuggly, love phase of heat. So we had a nice quiet chill ride to the lake. I let her splash but not roll. Then we headed to the jump arena because the dressage arenas were still too wet.
I picked up the trot and holy cow... she's cured! ha ha.. We were joking that she was going around like a western pleasure horse. Although Kelli politely pointed out that she was nowhere near western pleasure speed still. Ha ha. Let me dream lady!! But, point is... she was chill and relaxed and soft and not at all braced or inverted and a pretty slow rhythm for her. And I just sat there with her on the long rein and enjoyed it. But then about 4 minutes into it... she started to pin her ears. And then shortly after that... she started with the slamming on the breaks and bucking and rearing. The little baby crow hops, but still. I rode a few out and then quit. Kelli offered to watch and see if she could find a pattern, so I was calling out what I was doing.... half halt..... inside leg... half halt.... nothing, nothing, nothing... Kelli even commented that I was riding so soft and non-reactive, but... she kept throwing her tantrums. Okay baby girl.. I hear you. We're done. Sigh... So, guessing it's not her stifles.
We watched Kelli ride for a bit and Marvin wasn't feeling it either, so we gave up and headed back out for another hack. Since we were in the jump arena I opted to take us down alongside the road in the woods. As we started down the hill Marvin got fussy so Kelli hopped off and was hand walking him. We came around the bend and were just about to pass the bridge and enter into the cross country field, with Funny and I in the lead... and we passed a deer bedded down. Apparently we scared it, but not until after we had passed it. So, it scrambled and then leapt up. Unfortunately it was now behind us and in front of Kelli and Marvin. So Funny spun in a circle trying to bolt and the deer was spinning trying to figure out where to go... and then Marvin was freaking out. I had my phone in my hand so was one handed, but sadly not videoing. :) ha! I managed to get Funny stopped and turned around to see the deer basically ran AT Kelli and Marvin and then bounce past them. Poor Marvin spun and slid and fell halfway down and then got up and bolted off. Then Funny started to panic again but luckily settled pretty quick. Good gravy! Silly deer.. that was wholly unnecessary!!! Ha ha.. I managed to get Funny settled very quickly so we went walking towards where Marvin had headed. Luckily he was standing just a little ways off. He had stepped through his reins but didn't break them and wasn't panicking. I talked to him and then walked Funny closer. When I knew he wouldn't bolt again, I jumped off and then walked up to him and caught him. Thanks for leaving all us ladies to fend for ourselves sir! Chivalry is dead! Ha ha. But that deer did go straight at him! Luckily everyone was okay and we were able to continue on. I made Funny walk past the spot and she was a bit up but she did it. Poor Marvin did too. We hacked around a bit longer and Funny was back to motoring though not quite with her usual gusto. We kept leaving Marvin in the dust. Poor guy. As we were heading back towards home alongside the lake path, it started raining. It was so peaceful (although the video sounds like a massive heavy rain!). We got back to the trailers and the rain quit.
So I'm sad that she's still not cured but we did enjoy a lovely ride! And we survived the deer!


















No comments:
Post a Comment