Tuesday, May 20, 2025

Missed Her! And This!

Today I braved a bareback ride! Even with her having had a good bit of time off. I just... figured that way we could roll in the lake and I wouldn't be tempted to push her and "test" her. So we headed out. She started off a little fresh. Her usual power walking but she was also a little bit... vibraty! Hee hee. She was jumpy but not spooky. She just felt a little bit like she might explode whereas normally she just feels motory. But, she behaved and we didn't have any mishaps. We aimed for the hills and ended up on the hooky trail. Which was a bit of a mistake as the kids were out at recess so she had to stop and stare a few times. BUT, she just stared and then carried on. So yay! We also came across a turtle once we got into the hay fields but she was motoring on and I'm not sure she even saw him. He was the leathery soft shelly type guy. He ignored us too. :) 

 

 

I let her trot/asked her to trot in the hay fields but I had to keep pulling her down to the walk because she was bouncing me off her back. She was quick and hollow and holy cow she's a lot harder to sit her trot bareback than Daniel. When we got in the woods, I tried trotting again and we actually got a decent fancy trot that I could sit to. I'm not sure if it was the terrain, she had calmed down, or what, but... I used it to my advantage. 

 

We stopped at the lake and I let her walk in. She splashed around a good bit. I almost thought she wasn't going to roll but then she did. And then another 6 times or so. Hee hee. Glad I was bareback, but my boots got soaked! They were squealching. ;) But we had a blast! 

We then headed to the XC field and I let her trot a little bit there. We walked over the baby ditch, which she stopped and tried to run out at. Funny!! But then she did it and then the middle ditch and then back over the baby ditch. We then trotted into the water complex and I had her trot in circles in it too. She is fancy!!! Dang, I wish I could do my whole dressage test in 1.5' of water. She was fancy and slow! I'll definitely have to do this often to help strengthen those muscles and give her the idea. Then, for funsies... we trotted the log out of the water. (Since we had already done it before the other week or so). She was perfect. And then I couldn't help it so we trotted the hanging log heading to the water and then through the water. I almost jumped the log stack out but decided to be smart. She was good! And... no bucking and tantrums. Even with the trotting, cantering a teeny bit, and jumping. So.... is it because we were out in the field? Is it because she was bareback? Or is it because her ovaries feel better? Or her stifles feel better? Or is the injectable omeprazole working? I don't know but I don't care. I"m just glad she's feeling better! We headed home after that. 

 


 




 

No comments:

Post a Comment