Sunday, May 11, 2025

Soggy and Spooky Start

 Well.. this weekend's weather has been miserable! It's been raining HARD non-stop. Just about. Although it did stop today from about 8 am til 4:30 pm. I had a wire in my tire and while my tire wasn't going flat... I didn't want to be somewhere an hour away with clients waiting and have it go flat, so... I sucked it up and adulted and went this morning to get it fixed. Of course they couldn't patch it... they had to replace it. And I got my oil changed to. So, I had to sit there for 2.5 hrs. Sigh... Oh well. It was cold and soggy and gross.

 

I got home and the radar showed no rain still til 5ish, so... I changed into fleecy tights (I was so cold from sitting in that cold car place for 2.5 hrs) and grabbed Funbuns and we headed to Ashland. We were the only ones there!

 

We had a good hack, but man was she spicy! Not spicy.. jumpy.. reactive... ready to roll! She had her speed walk/power walk on and was motoring. And jumping at every little thing... wanting to stop and stare... sniffing the ground like a bloodhound for a long length of time in a row.. so long that my back started to hurt! I was trying to let her go to the buckle but my reins are juuuuuust long enough. But she wasn't naughty! Just... jumpy. 

 

We did trot a little bit and she was quick and a bit squirty but eventually it got better. We did some hills. But mostly we just walked and enjoyed the peace and solitude. We did see a big deer in the field, which ironically, did NOT cause Funny to jump or spook. And then we saw the goslings.. but sadly there was only 5 left. Not 6. Sadness. 

 

I did make her trot some in the cross country field. She started a little stiff and braced and quick so I made her trot in the water complex. ha ha! She is so bouncy in there. But I thought it was a good idea for her and Lyric too, not just Dan so I'll start doing that with all of them. Then we trotted in the field again and she was a little less frazzled. There wasn't any naughty behavior and she didn't feel as combative today. Just... ready to squirt off at the drop of a hat! But..it was a spooky day... she's not been ridden in 5 days.. at least... so I'll cut her some slack. I did trot enough that I think she should have gotten balky if she was going to, but... I won't call it a cure yet! We ended with some nicer trot and then walked up the hill and headed in. 

 
And now it's raining again. Sigh... and again tomorrow too. But yay for the grass and pastures and flowers. 

 

 

 

 

No comments:

Post a Comment