I almost didn't ride today. I worked 13 hours yesterday and was exhausted. I slept well and slept in til 7:45 but... after feeding ponies and eating breakfast, I was so tired, I could have crawled back in bed. (I read something today about how night owls really struggle to function on a normal work cycle - and yeah... like I always say... going to bed at 2 am and up at 10 am is my ideal cycle... but it explains why I'm exhausted, fall asleep while driving, yet can't sleep during the night). I debated crawling back in bed too! I really did. I also debating staying home and just doing chores and catching up on life. Or going shopping - I need balsamic vinegar and I want sparkles for my helmet and boots. Or... I could bathe the boys... and/or do groundwork. Or heck, even bodywork as none of them have been adjusted or chiropracted recently.

But then, I decided that I should probably go ride. Ashland's arenas were going to be closed Thursday and they were having their show Saturday. And since Funny is my only current ridable horse... and I did NOT want to do arena work with her at home... I figured we might as well go to Ashland. Maybe we could do a hack and then do a tiny bit of arena work again. I don't know... why the arena's being closed Thursday motivated me to go ride on the trails today makes sense... I don't know. I'm tired. And heatstroked. But I went. And I'm glad I did. We had fun.

Of course I realized that I was going to be pushing it to get back in time for Cheese's vet appointment, but I had time. It was too hot to ride much longer anyways. I tacked up in the dressage saddle and we headed out. My plan was to do a short hack, trot some in the field, and then do a more focused dressage ride in the field and if she was good, move it to the arena. So that's what we did. We hacked out and then when we hit the gallop track, we did some trotting and cantering. She was very quick today! And a bit more bracey again. I tried to keep my hands low and just... send her into the contact. At least at this point she's not as angry about the soft contact. She's just not soft in it yet. We happened upon Missy and Indy and Coach and another girl, so we stopped and chatted. Funny turned on the charm but as soon after sniffing with Indy she squealed at him. She wouldn't even let Coach think about coming closer. Sorry guys! We headed our separate ways.

I let Funny stop to get a drink but she wasn't real interested in the lake and I didn't push it because we had the saddle on. So then we trotted in the woods to the cross country field and then trotted in the field. She was less quick than originally today but still overall a bit over tempo. And again, still a bit more bracey today. But at least above the bit vs behind the vertical. We managed to get in some nice moments and overall, it's still improvement from before. We trotted in the water complex some too. Then we trotted up the hill and headed to the arena. She spooked hard at the boat again. Such a spooky brave chicken. She was afraid of it but still went but jumped sideways because... I don't know, maybe a bug moved.

We got to the area in front of the arenas and she got quick and a bit anxious. Ugh. So... I kept the reins long and just let her amble into the arena. We walked on a loose rein the whole length of the arena and I gave her a cookie. This isn't a battlefield.. it should be a place where we can have fun... show off... build harmony! Sigh. So then we trotted and even cantered. And honestly.. that's probably the best she's been in the arena in a LONG time. She was still a bit quick and still inconsistent in the contact, but overall... much less rushy... a bit more balanced on her hind end, much less fussy in the bridle... she was happier about the connection and didn't fight it. She was more responsive to my half halts and was super soft to the downward aids. And it held even after we cantered! Whoo hooo! I was torn between quitting and rewarding her too soon and wanting to push it a little build to build on it. So... I pushed it a little bit and then gave her more cookies and then let her amble out on a loose rein. She got lots of verbal praise too!

Then I decided since we still had 30 minutes, we could go to the lake. I pulled her saddle and my boots and put on the bareback pad and we headed out. Unfortunately we were short enough on time that it meant she had to trot and canter to the lake a good chunk of the way. She even jumped the little hanging log next to the open oxer near the lake. From a trot and pretty landed in a trot. I think she's tired!

We got to the lake and it wasn't exactly cool and refreshing. It wasn't hot though at least! Funny actually even pawed and splashed a little bit too before she rolled. She picked a deep spot at first but was smart enough to not go under (unlike her big brother). We played for a little bit and then we walked back to the trailer, untacked, got a good rinse, and headed home .Good pony!!